Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Fabulous - definitely a favourite with family and friends. I often add an extra cup of rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This recipe is SO GOOD...I just had to cover the dish because my husband and I keep snitching cuts out of the pan. I made it according to the recipe, but as someone recommended, I used brown sugar for the topping. I wanted to reduce calories and did not have fat free sour cream or fat free plain yogurt, so I used 80% fat free vanilla yogurt. I also forgot to put the cinnamon on top. I am a gardener, but I am not a baker. This was one of the easiest, best baked goods I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Wonderful cake for no fat in the batter! The rhubarb cooks up to provide the needed moisture. The cake is moist with a nice tart-sweet balance between the cake and topping. I used 3/4 c. brown sugar and a half teaspoon of cinnamon in the batter and a half cup of brown sugar for the topping. Great way to use fresh rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Will make again and again.. Should be on everyone's must-make list
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Our family loved this cake! I was looking for a recipe similar to the rhubarb cake that my Mom-in-law was famous for and came across this version, with sour cream in the recipe and a shortbread-type crust rather than the brown sugar type. I think this is even better!! I made it the first time with a cup of sour cream, and my daughter made it the second time with half sour cream and half milk. I think the secomd cake was a nicer texture. All in all a lovely, fresh tasting cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I added vanilla and agree with another reviewer the topping needs more flour. Absolutely delicious even with a little tweaking. Like that it uses lots of rhubarb and not fat other than sour cream in the topping. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Excellent use of the abundant rhubarb in my backyard. I used vanilla yogurt in place of sour cream and added 3/4 tsp cinnamon to the crumb topping. I baked for 35 minutes in 2 8x8 pans to share with the neighbors. A great blend of tangy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I added 4 cups freshly picked rhubarb and it didn't get soggy. I did not have sour cream, so I used 1T of lemon juice with about 3/4 cups of whipping cream. The batter is very thick - don't worry. I have added pecans to the streusel with good results... extra crunchy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This recipe, as written, is wonderful. I've made it many times. I also like to change the white sugar out for brown sugar. I also like to add 1/4 cup oatmeal to the strudel topping for a bit of texture. Alea your Oma must have been a wonderful grandmother if she could make something this yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Lovely recipe! I didn't have sour cream, so substituted the same amount of vanilla yogurt. I also added two cups of diced strawberries. Used half whole wheat flour and half unbleached white flour. I also cut back on the sugar for the topping. It was moist and dense and fruity, much like an English bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States