Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Delicious - a hit with the whole family. I didn't have sour cream on hand, so I used regular whipping cream and a squeeze of lemon juice instead. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla, as another reviewer suggested. Light and moist cake, crunchy topping - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Not what I expected at all. I followed the recipe, using pre-measured frozen rhubarb, which I thawed and drained (not squeezed out), so I don't know if that made a difference to the texture in the end. We found the texture to be more like a bread than a cake. It also could have used more rhubarb flavor in my opinion. I think adding 1/2 cup butter to the recipe would have made it that cake texture we were hoping for. Either way, I won't be making it again. I have enjoyed other rhubarb cakes from this site much, much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is soooo good. I used previously frozen rhubarb so it had probably compressed to the equivalent of 4 cups fresh, and I also added a few strawberries. I used full-fat live culture sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I don't know much about rhubarb, but we grew it in our garden this year, so I had to find a use. This recipe was an excellent one!! It was gone from our house in two days. Very moist and not too strong on the rhubarb flavor. So good, in fact, that my husband said I couldn't make this too often or we'd gain too much weight! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Definate 5 stars here. I grew up eating rhubarb in many forms but have long since lost my rhubarb coffee cake recipe. This one far outshines any rhubarb cake I have eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was easy and fast to make. Will cut down on sugar topping next time. Might use brown sugar on top as other reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Very easy to make. Wonderful flavor.I also will try this with blueberries. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anjelikka
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I made them into squares and then took them to our 4th of July Party....yummy, everybody loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjelikka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Very easy to make and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Wonderful and not too sweet, the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States