Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This recipe is SO GOOD...I just had to cover the dish because my husband and I keep snitching cuts out of the pan. I made it according to the recipe, but as someone recommended, I used brown sugar for the topping. I wanted to reduce calories and did not have fat free sour cream or fat free plain yogurt, so I used 80% fat free vanilla yogurt. I also forgot to put the cinnamon on top. I am a gardener, but I am not a baker. This was one of the easiest, best baked goods I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Wonderful cake for no fat in the batter! The rhubarb cooks up to provide the needed moisture. The cake is moist with a nice tart-sweet balance between the cake and topping. I used 3/4 c. brown sugar and a half teaspoon of cinnamon in the batter and a half cup of brown sugar for the topping. Great way to use fresh rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Will make again and again.. Should be on everyone's must-make list
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Our family loved this cake! I was looking for a recipe similar to the rhubarb cake that my Mom-in-law was famous for and came across this version, with sour cream in the recipe and a shortbread-type crust rather than the brown sugar type. I think this is even better!! I made it the first time with a cup of sour cream, and my daughter made it the second time with half sour cream and half milk. I think the secomd cake was a nicer texture. All in all a lovely, fresh tasting cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I added vanilla and agree with another reviewer the topping needs more flour. Absolutely delicious even with a little tweaking. Like that it uses lots of rhubarb and not fat other than sour cream in the topping. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Excellent use of the abundant rhubarb in my backyard. I used vanilla yogurt in place of sour cream and added 3/4 tsp cinnamon to the crumb topping. I baked for 35 minutes in 2 8x8 pans to share with the neighbors. A great blend of tangy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I added 4 cups freshly picked rhubarb and it didn't get soggy. I did not have sour cream, so I used 1T of lemon juice with about 3/4 cups of whipping cream. The batter is very thick - don't worry. I have added pecans to the streusel with good results... extra crunchy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This recipe, as written, is wonderful. I've made it many times. I also like to change the white sugar out for brown sugar. I also like to add 1/4 cup oatmeal to the strudel topping for a bit of texture. Alea your Oma must have been a wonderful grandmother if she could make something this yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Lovely recipe! I didn't have sour cream, so substituted the same amount of vanilla yogurt. I also added two cups of diced strawberries. Used half whole wheat flour and half unbleached white flour. I also cut back on the sugar for the topping. It was moist and dense and fruity, much like an English bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Very Easy and delicious! I have Rhubarb exploding in my yard. I substituted 2-4oz containers of strawberry Light Yogurt for the sour cream. It was perfect - strawberry rhubarb cake! Less Calories too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Koch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States