Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
after reading the reviews, I also cut back on the sugar to 3/4 cup. It was sweet enough and full of flavor. I've made it at least four times with rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Excellent! Another cup rhubarb makes it extra delilicioous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is a wonderful moist cake with a nice cinnamon flavor. Perfect when you have a lot of rhubarb but don't necessarily want to mix it with other fruit. The tart rhubarb stands very well on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Terrific. We love rhubarb pie (using the Fresh Rhubarb Pie recipe from this site) and can't wait for the season. This year we have a bumper crop of rhubarb and after making several pies, I was looking for a change of pace. This recipe was definitely it. I used the recipe as-is except I used greek yogurt, half brown sugar, and extra cinnamon to suit our personal tastes. I'll definitely make again with and without those changes and in the fall when apples are in season. My college age son is home for the 4th of July weekend so I made this for breakfast. He devoured almost half of it (he's the typical eating machine). We enjoyed it so much that later after our cookout we ignored our other dessert and polished this off with a side of ice cream. Thank you for sharing the recipe! After one use, it is already one of my family's keepers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I was craving rhubarb, and this recipe came with great reviews, so I gave it a shot. Simple to prepare, and very moist, but too sweet for my taste. One of the reviewers made it with half the sugar, so I may try that the next time. After writing the paragraph above, I asked my husband what he thought of it. He loved it, and my 5yo son said he would give it 10 stars, if he could. I'm raising it to a four star, and eating it with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
A great easy recipe. I had company coming and limited ingredients at the cottage so I tried it. Everyone loved it. I was happy to share the recipe with them all. So it will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Fantastic! My only complaint, and it's minor and easily remedied, is that it's a little too sweet. I used only 1 cup sugar in the cake and scant cup in the topping and will cut both back to 3/4 cup next time. I love the texture and the amount of rhubarb, though, and will keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
WAY WAY WAY too much sugar crumble on top and not enough flavour in the bread/cake. I liked how moist it was and that there was a good amount of rhubarb in proportion to the other ingredients, but yeah, way too much sugar and butter on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sita Ghostrider

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Excellent as is. I followed this recipe exactly. The cake is moist and light at the same time. Delicious warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, but absolutely Superb when fully cooled and eaten as coffee cake. The first pan got eaten so fast I promptly made another. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Fabulous - definitely a favourite with family and friends. I often add an extra cup of rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States