Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Excellent cake, and extremely easy to make. I cut the sugar by 1/4 cup, and will likely cut more next time I make it. I also probably used 4 C rhubarb. For reference, made this way and cut 6 x 3 (18 pieces) in a 9 x 13 pan, it's 180 calories a piece. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
My rhubarb plant produced over twenty stalks(not bad for its first year) and I needed a recipe to use them all up so when I saw the high reviews and since I gad all the ingredients available at home I decided to give this recipe a try. Unfortunately, my cake did not get high reviews at home. First of all, the crumb topping was like plaster thus leaving my cake half raw. Also, the cake was tasteless perhaps substituting brown sugar and some other spices would have been more palatable. I added the rest of the rhubarb to my apple pie now that was delicious! It was an interesting experience for me because I had never baked with rhubarb before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Everyone loved this recipe. I had 2 people ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Excellent moist cake! I only had whole wheat flour on hand, but otherwise followed the recipe. It was gone in 24 hours! Everyone loved it, even the non-rhubarb people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I've made this recipe exactly as it's written multiple times. Every time, it's a HUGE hit. Everyone's always surprised to learn there's no butter or oil in the batter, because the cake is incredibly moist. The rhubarb bakes down into the cake, making it nice and tart, and the crumb topping cuts the tartness just enough. This is a great dessert, especially when paired with vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt, but when we bring a pan of this to the lake, everyone wants a slice for breakfast, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This is the best rhubarb cake I have ever had. Everyone loves it and I make it very often. Last time I tried making it with splenda and it wasn't as sweet, but it was still very good. It did not turn out as thick as making it with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Willie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
wow, this is one of the best recipes that use Rhubarb on here!! amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *BritanyJ*

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
SOOO very good! I love rhubarb and this was right up my alley! I substituted brown sugar in the crumb topping and omitted cinnamon. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saintcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This is so good, I may never make it again. I ate almost 2 full pieces when it came out of the oven. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This is a very basic, moist cake that is good, but not too exciting. There are other rhubarb recipes that use vanilla, at least part brown sugar, etc. that we would choose over this recipe. Quick to prepare if you are in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States