Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Made this recipe to use some fresh rhubarb from the garden. Baked in a mini-loaf pan with eight mini-loaves, the batter nearly filled each mini-loaf and then baked up with a nice muffin-esque top. All I had on hand was low fat 5% sour cream, which seems to have worked well with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Near

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Seriously fabulous! Added cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla. Even cold it is addicting! Made it for a 4th time subbing 0% greek yogurt and making into "cupcakes" baked for 18 min. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This good, simple cake is best eaten the day it's made. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the cake, but otherwise made as written. Changes I'll try next time: up the rhubarb to 4 cups, add a bit of cinnamon to batter, cut the topping in half (using brown sugar), and adding chopped walnuts to topping. Worth another try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Oh My Gosh. This recipe is awesome and easy. Mine didn't quite look like the picture but the taste is fantastic. All in moderation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cadillac_cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This cake is so moist!! I took it to work and the guys gobbled it up. Will make this one agian and again. Great way to use up the rhubarb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Delicious and moist! I will definitely make this recipe again. I also added more flour to the "crumble" so that it would do just that. Next time I will try using vanilla yogurt in place of sour cream....to add just a touch more sweetness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very, very good! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was so unbelievably delicious! I made this for Easter supper and got rave reviews. This will definitely be made again. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Delicious!! My husband and I loved it. Even though I used less sugar than required the cake was still wonderful. I am trying to cut our sugar intake so I used 1 cup sugar for the cake and 1/3 for the streusel. I think one can swap the rhubarb for tart apples or tart cherries and the result will also be great. I must try. Thank you very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSECLAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Wonderful cake. I didn't even use the topping. I just took it out of the oven, brushed it with butter, and sprinkled brown sugar on top. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States