Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is a coffee cake so it is intended to be dense and moist. The recipe is perfect as is. I used frozen rhubarb and drained it well before adding to the batter. Its great warm from the oven and just as good cold. Hubby had 2 pieces. I might try using brown sugar for the topping instead of white granulated. It is a great cake that can be used with frozen apple or fresh peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineMalf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Invermere, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Made per directions many times. Only variation is sometimes a little more or less rhubarb. Everyone who tastes this loves it- even people who are not big rhubarb eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
My husband had four pieces of this and a lot of others had seconds. I substituted the sour cream for plain yogurt and added some vanilla extract. I changed it to 4+ cups of rhubarb and put half brown and half white sugar. This cake is light and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FeistyEats
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe. Great reviews. I used half brown sugar and white sugar in both the cake and topping. I also used 4 cups of rhubarb. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I decided to do a brown sugar topping which I like much better and added another cup of rhubarb. Other than that, I would say it's a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Made it just as the recipes was listed. Seriously dense, moist cake. Looved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Yum! At first some were skeptical but in the end, it was a hit at the office. Thanks for sharing your recipe. When rhubarb season comes around again, I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I made this as our dessert for my family's Father's Day barbeque and it was a hit not only with the adults but the children loved it too! One of those kinds of desserts that you keep cutting just one more little piece off as you pass by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rushford, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Rating: 5 stars. After all the questionable reviews, I was skeptical to try this recipe. However, I did and sure don't know what others problems are but my cake came out just perfect!! I followed the recipe with no changes and it was awesome, so don't hesitate, just ENJOY!! Your friends and family will be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States