Oma's Fabulous Matzo Ball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This recipe was not to my liking. Two 10 ounce packs of matzohs? Out of your mind, unless you are cooking for 20. I was corralled into helping a Jewish gal I know cook for Passover. She had printed out this recipe, and that was all I had. It was the most boringly bland mix I have ever tasted, probably because the "add to taste" instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I made this for folks that are vegetarian so I made with vegetable bouillon instead of chicken. I also reduced the amount of butter by half and substituted two tbs of EVO. Then I added just a drizzle of white truffle oil and two tbs of Mrs. Dash to the broth. My family loved it and the matzo balls were just hard enough to suit their tastes. I prefer light fluffy matzo balls but they over ruled me in this instance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by horsepro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was delicious! I've never made Matzo ball soup before, but I think the use of the crackers is different and tasty. I would suggest adding additional seasonings to the mixture (minced garlic/garlic powder) also perhaps more parsley. But other than that a great recipe! My mom already asked me to print it for her :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This was our first time making matzo ball soup, and it was outstanding. We crushed the crackers in a plastic bag with a rolling pin until they were about the size of rolled oats. We added water and squeezed it out through cheesecloth to get the crackers drier. When stirring "until dry," I think the author means a dry dough, not actually bone dry, which might explain the non-success of a previous poster. We used dried parsley rather than fresh, which was fine. We also added thinly sliced carrots. The raw onions cook up just fine in the balls in about 30 minutes - they get translucent and tasty, so definitely put the full amount in. Wonderful and economical recipe! We'll be adding it to the regular soup rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was my first time making Matzo Ball Soup. I will definitelly make this receipe again. My 15 year old daughter helped me and it came out great!!! I read all the reviews and took some advice, like using only one onion and grinding up the matzo crackers. I used the magic bullet. I made my own stock with chicken parts and veggie tops, than I skimmed the fat off, removed the fat and bones from chicken than chopped the chicken up, added garlic, carrots, celery, onions,parsnips,and chicken boulion. I didn't over water the matzo crackers, so no need to drain excess, added very little matzo meal, kept it a little moist. When rolling matzo balls hands get very messy, but they floated to the top pretty quick. It is alot to clean up, but worth it. Thank you, Oma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I made this while camping over Passover. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I made this for my jewish boyfriend when he was sick, as he has said that Matzo Ball Soup will always cure what ails him (maybe he just meant his mutha's). The soup was delicious, but didn't quite look "matzo-y", and the balls turned out a bit uneven looking, chunky almost. I think it has to do with the instructions to "break matzo into small pieces", which I took to mean about the size of rolled oats, but in actuality to get a smooth, uniform ball, needs to be about the consistency of coarse sand. This recipe avoids usual pitfalls of dense and/or heavy balls, but all in all wasn't perfect. The boyfriend said "I mean, everyone who has a matzo ball soup recipe they love kind of expects the same kind of matzo ball every time. These are fine, and maybe they're somebody's matzo ball". I guess they're a gentle gentile girlfriend brand matzo. I think I'll fry them for breakfast tomorrow. In bacon grease?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
As much as I love soup . This is worth every effort . You wont forget this one .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I love matzo ball soup!...but while the balls float, they don't seem to expand. Instead of turning out large and fluffy, they're smaller with tough insides. Any advice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Renee Bartlome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I made a "poor student" version of this recipe using whole wheat crackers and tofu dogs. -_- But! I followed the directions for how to make the matzo balls and it worked wonderfully. I'm going to save up for some imported matzo and definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Jewish Chicken Soup

This traditional chicken and matzoh ball soup is the original health food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States