Oma's Fabulous Matzo Ball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I make this with vegetable broth... this is amazing.. The key to light matzo balls is the pre boil them in salted water covered tightly with a lid for 20 mins.. Then add them to the soup to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Thanks May and Oma. Dad gave me a box of Matzo crackers a few weeks ago. Then, I caught the flu last week and didn't want to eat anything; i.e.: other than matzo ball soup. This was delicious. The quantity is very had to work with. I used my biggest Italian American feast bowls and pot for mixing the matzo. I'll make a half batch next time. Otherewise, I live in the Southwest desert and the mix soothed my dry hands better than any hand cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
excellent flavor, thanks for this great recipe! texture was a little bit dense, maybe i didn't let them cook long enough? i'll experiment next time, giving them another 5-10 minutes cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This was very good. I give it a 4 1/2 stars. My mother loved it and I liked it a lot but ive had better Matzo Ball Soup. It is also very messy to make and I dont know if its worth the mess. In all, we all enjoyed it and I'm glad I tried it (having never made matzo ball before). I will probably make this again, but it will only be a once a year thing because of the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
VERY good! I added my own touches to this & it turned out gr8! Hubby loved it & ate 4 bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I separated the yolks from the whites. I whipped the whites until stiff and after mixing the ingredients I folded in the whites. All of the Matzo Balls floated to the top!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I'm giving this recipe a 3 based on instructions alone, but a 5 based on flavor. Averages to a 4. If I had taken the time to read everyone's input prior to making, I could have avoided some of the same issues other have already encountered. First of all, one 10 oz box of matzo crackers is plenty for 96 ounces of stock. Other additions, just divide in half (eggs, parsley, etc). As written, one onion is PLENTY and the balls have a very intense, concentrated onion flavor. May be too much for some. If so, reduce the amount of onion and chop into finer pieces. I will pulverize the crackers in my food processor next time. My balls, while very, very tasty, were also very, very ugly. I'm used to the traditional appearance, and I did not come close in my first attempt. I also added an entire bag of peeled, organic carrots. Cut into rondelles. And about 1/2 bag of celery cut into 1/4 X 1/4 inch pieces. LOVED the veggies with the balls. Next time I will add less onion to the balls, cut the remaining onion into chunks to add to the broth. Also, if you can, homemade broth is the bomb. I think homemade broth would make this recipe extraordinary. With some minor changes, this recipe will definitely remain in my standard repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Loved the soup and it turned out pretty good for a first time. The only thing is that I added about 2 extra eggs because I did not realize the matzo balls were supposed to sink to the bottom when dropped onto the boiling water and float up after a few minutes. I think that explanation should be added for those that have never made this. Other than this I also added onion & garlic powder to my broth and some garlic powder to the balls themselves for extra taste. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
You can make these kosher by using shmaltz (rendered chicken fat) instead of butter I like slightly dense but flavorful matzah balls and I thought these were phenomenal. TIP-FORMING: keep your hands oiled when rolling the balls, it keeps the dough from sticking and helps them shape well TIP-SEASON TO TASTE: before adding the eggs, mix salt into the matzah, and then TASTE it. keep adding salt if it's bland. Then, add more than you think you need and then add the eggs. Remember that the egg yolks will really cut down the flavor though so just make sure you add enough salt. Then and only then will they taste their best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This recipe was not to my liking. Two 10 ounce packs of matzohs? Out of your mind, unless you are cooking for 20. I was corralled into helping a Jewish gal I know cook for Passover. She had printed out this recipe, and that was all I had. It was the most boringly bland mix I have ever tasted, probably because the "add to taste" instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Jewish Chicken Soup

This traditional chicken and matzoh ball soup is the original health food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States