Oma's Fabulous Matzo Ball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deanna Peshl
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
First time ever making matzo ball soup and let me tell you...not only was it fantastic but it was easy too! Made it for Passover and it was a hit! The matzo ball recipe makes a lot! I froze the extra in rolled balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Peshl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jess_a_lew
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Best matzoh ball soup I have ever had! (I have been eating this "homemade" [made with matzoh meal] my entire life). I loved that real matzoh was used for the batter rather than skipping the steps and using prepared matzoh meal; these matzoh balls have a much richer flavor and subtle, yet interesting texture than those made entirely with the prepared meal. To keep kosher - use shmaltz (chicken skin renderings) and vegetable based oil of choice instead of butter. Do not continuously add more matzoh meal if the batter does not stick together;instead, make sure to alternately add meal and eggs until the batter is a soft, doughy texture, similar to meatballs. Add a few carrots, celery, and onions chopped in inch-long pieces and fry them with canola oil and parsley and dump them into same soup base. Use this same pan to fry the rehydrated matzoh in to use the most of this freshly flavored oil left in the pan. Also, make sure to flour your hand continuously while forming the matzoh balls to avoid having the batter stuck to your hands; this will enable you to form the balls in your hands through rolling rather than relying on the stickiness of the matzoh meal and eggs alone. Happy cooking! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I just don't get all the five star reviews!! I did not like this recipe at all! I've made my fair share of matzo balls but decided to try somethiong different. I followed the recipe to a t. The only thing I changed was another reviewer's suggestion to use a potato masher. Glad I didn't make the entire amount!!! I'll stick with my tried & true recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
The proportions of this recipe are ridiculous unless you're hosting the most epic Seder ever! I adjusted this recipe for 5 and still halved the amount of matzoh and margarine. Otherwise, it's a good recipe, but I made these changes: 1) after soaking and draining the matzoh I used a potato masher to get it to a finer texture, and I continued to mash with a spoon while I cooked the mixture to dryness 2) I used cilantro instead of parsley 3) I sauteed the onions in margarine before adding them to the matzoh mixture 4)I used Manischewitz "Everything" matzoh, it made for a more savory maztzoh ball, but it is not Passover kosher. 5) wash and dry your hands after rolling every few balls otherwise the egg will stay on your hands and make it hard to roll, or make the balls look sloppy. 6) Just sprinkle the matzoh meal until it reaches the right consistency. I think depending on the size of eggs, you need very little meal, if any. I'm not Jewish myself, but I made this for my Jewish boyfriend, and he was very happy with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I'm sorry to say that this was a LOT of work for an "eh" result. This was my first time making matzo balls although I've grown up eating the soup. I guess my idea of a matzo ball is a more compact, more together, ball. I'm assuming these are quite authentic, considering I used two(!)packages of matzo to make them, but I prefer the more harder/compact ball myself. I saw a recipe for matzo balls on the matzo meal container and thought, "oh, THIS is how I should have made them." My "test" ball fell apart in the water so I added more matzo meal and tried again. The next ball was better and so I added the balls to the soup. BIG MISTAKE! Some still fell apart and the soup was a chunky, cloudy mess. I agree with the previous reviewer who said the balls should be cooked in salted water FIRST and then added to the broth. Be warned that this makes MASSIVE AMOUNTS of balls.... I had between 40-50 balls. TOO MANY! Try cooking 50 balls in 96 oz of soup. If you're making this for a family of, oh, I don't know, 6 or under, definitely halve the recipe!I froze 2 dozen of them. I was literally in the kitchen for 3 hours making this recipe.30 minute prep time? You GOTTA be kidding. I wonder if more direction in the recipe would have helped. What kind of matzo..flavored? How fine should I have made the matzo pieces? Maybe my pieces were too big hence the chunky balls? We'll never know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great taste, fast and very easy. My matzo balls didn't come out finely textured like the picture though, should I have mashed the crackers more? All in all I would use this as my go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This recipe worked the first time through without any additions,changes or alterations. Perfect dinner for a cold rainy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I'm a gentile but I grew up with mostly Jewish friends and love Matzoh Ball Soup. This recipe is great but I easily overcame it's alleged shortcomings by buying a Matzoh Ball mix and jazzing it up as the recipe indicates and as others have improvised. Save yourselves the angst and watch the dumplings float and rise and be what you remembered. I also added celery, carrots, onions and garlic to the broth as suggested. Heaven.Four stars only because making the balls from scratch is unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Love it! Thanks! Anna Reyes, Riverside, California
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I've been using this site for a few years now, and this recipe prodded me to actually register as a member so i could write a review. Don't let the troublesome comments deter you from trying this! Not only did the recipe work out just great, i had a fabulous time making it... could just be the mood I'm in, on the verge of becoming an empty-nester, and struggling with irrelevance... but I'm home alone with a new Adele c.d., and determined to continue being fabulous, even when there is no one here to notice. And I've had FUN! The only reason I didn't grant 5 stars is because I can't quite settle for can'd broth and I didn't plan far enough ahead for it. I have no chicken, and my bra is off so going to the store waits until tomorrow. The matzo balls are lightly cooked and refrigerated until then. for this I know tomorrow is going to be a great day! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Jewish Chicken Soup

This traditional chicken and matzoh ball soup is the original health food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States