Oma's Fabulous Matzo Ball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This recipe was fantastic! This was my first time making matzo ball soup, and it turned out perfectly. I used the lightly salted matzo and added a little extra butter. Note that this recipe makes about 30 or so matzo balls. I froze about half of the matzo balls, then defrosted and added to some broth for a quick soup on another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
In my heart, chicken soup will always be the perfect comfort food because my "Oma" made the best, except she used noodles. As an adult, I'm totally addicted to matzo ball soup and now my kids are too. This is a fantastic soup. If you've never tried making matzo balls, give this a shot; you'll probably never want to put just plain egg noodles in your soup again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
My 1st attempt at this type of soup and was pleased with the results. Tastes as good as the local deli's soup. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This recipe should have gotten a complete 5. Kosher or not. My wife and I made this together for the first time and it was terrific. The Matzo balls she has always had were much more plain. We felt that the were tasty and terrific. We froze the extra balls as a previous reviewer suggested and look forward to making this recipe again! Great for colds too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I used one onion, green onion, garlic, and parsley to roll into this mixture. In general matzo ball soup is bland, but this really kicked up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This recipe was great. I made it for our passover dinner this year and everyone loved them. Many of whom had never even had Matzo ball soup before. Even the kids were asking for seconds. Thank-you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Tried matzo ball soup at a restaurant years ago, but it certainly wasn't as good as this recipe! This is the ultimate curing soup that I make for myself or my boyfriend when we are sick, and it always leaves us feeling better the next day. In addition, I usually add some chicken pieces - I make the broth myself-, as well as some shredded root vegetables like carrot and potato, I do assume celery would be good too. However, this is a total keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I rated this 5 stars because this is THE BEST Matzo Ball soup I have ever had!!! I made my own chicken broth (used only chicken necks, celery, carrots, onion and water) on Saturday, strained the broth, refridgerated it for 2 days so it could mellow out, and then followed the recipe for the matzo balls. They are awesome! I used the Manishevitz Egg and Onion Matzo crackers. Maybe that was the clincher. Im feeling like im catching a cold today, so this was the perfect dinner to have. Plus I have leftovers for a couple lunches! My 3 kids and husband also really liked it. THANKS OMA!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was a great addition to our Passover meal, everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I have used a few different Matzo Ball soup recipes and this is by far the quickest, easiest and morst flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Jewish Chicken Soup

This traditional chicken and matzoh ball soup is the original health food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States