Oma's Fabulous Matzo Ball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
hi I'm writing from Israel, I'm Jewish, and I agree that NOTHING in the world beats a good bowl of chicken soup, especially when it's winter and/or you're not feeling well. HOWEVER, I must add a small remark: this recipe is NOT KOSHER. I don't keep kosher, but I should explain why: any mix of dairy with meat is forbidden for all religious Jews. since the matzo balls in this recipe are made with butter, they are dairy. if you want this recipe to be kosher, substitute the butter with butter-flavored shortening, just make sure it's kosher, and non-dairy. enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This recipe was fantastic! This was my first time making matzo ball soup, and it turned out perfectly. I used the lightly salted matzo and added a little extra butter. Note that this recipe makes about 30 or so matzo balls. I froze about half of the matzo balls, then defrosted and added to some broth for a quick soup on another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
In my heart, chicken soup will always be the perfect comfort food because my "Oma" made the best, except she used noodles. As an adult, I'm totally addicted to matzo ball soup and now my kids are too. This is a fantastic soup. If you've never tried making matzo balls, give this a shot; you'll probably never want to put just plain egg noodles in your soup again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
My 1st attempt at this type of soup and was pleased with the results. Tastes as good as the local deli's soup. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This recipe should have gotten a complete 5. Kosher or not. My wife and I made this together for the first time and it was terrific. The Matzo balls she has always had were much more plain. We felt that the were tasty and terrific. We froze the extra balls as a previous reviewer suggested and look forward to making this recipe again! Great for colds too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I used one onion, green onion, garlic, and parsley to roll into this mixture. In general matzo ball soup is bland, but this really kicked up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Only Ok, based on flavour. I had a hard time getting the wet matzo dry and a lot of the balls fell apart in the water. (Also, I covered my hands in olive oil to help roll the balls.) Overall, I would definitly try these to break away from the boxed version, but I am personally sticking to the cylinder container of matzo meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This recipe is not kosher, therefore not authentic matzoball soup! The writer should have made note to make the recipe kosher either substitute oil or margarine for the butter, or simply use vegetable stock in lieu of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This is a great recipe and may not be rabbinically kosher, but is Biblically kosher. Great soup for Passover. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This recipe was great. I made it for our passover dinner this year and everyone loved them. Many of whom had never even had Matzo ball soup before. Even the kids were asking for seconds. Thank-you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Jewish Chicken Soup

This traditional chicken and matzoh ball soup is the original health food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States