Oma's Cottage Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Delicious! And so easy to make. I will be adding this as a go to dessert recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STELLA613

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Of course this isn't like real cheesecake but it is a nice, easy substitute. I don't think I will add the milk next time and I will try and strain the cheese a little more. There seem to be endless variations so it will be good to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe with a few changes- no cinnamon in the crust, half the lemon juice, and added about 1/4 c. Cocoa powder as another reviewer did and half a block of no fat cream cheese I had leftover. If you omit all the lemon juice you lose the "cheesecakey" flavor and get a more puddingy result. The lemon gives it that tang and helps firm the cheesecake. My blender couldn't handle it so I used a bowl and an immersion hand blender. easy! It took about an hour and then I turned the oven off and left it cracked for about 15 minutes. It was firm, rich, and delicious- even my husband was amazed that cottage cheese could be so yummy! Thanks for sharing Oma's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I used a store bought deep dish pie crust instead of the graham cracker base. The texture of the cheese turned out great and the filling amount was perfect! I used 1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup honey as I wanted to keep it low on sweetness. Also threw in half of a banana into the mix and skipped the milk and lemon juice. Put in some lemon grinds for flavor. Used a hand blender for the mixing. Had some Kiwi lying around, so decorated with sliced Kiwi and orange grinds, it turned out great! Thank you for this easy recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I really liked this. I couldn't't tell there was no cream cheese. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe!! I tried making it and just loved it! Yes it's a bit lighter of a cheesecake, but still very good! I fed it to several people without telling them it was a diet cheesecake and they all loved it! I think the key to making it really good is to make sure and blend the living day lights out of it. I blended the mixture until it was absolutely silky smooth and it baked up super smooth and creamy. The other change I made was to add 1 tbsp more lemon juice AND the zest of a large lemon. This really punched the lemon flavor up and made it taste deliciously lemony. I also only baked it for 50 minutes. This is best cold the next day - being overnight in the freezer firms it up a good deal. I will be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Delicious! Very light and airy. I omitted the milk as several reviewers suggested. Excellent flavor, will make again however will try it with the milk. Next time I will try using crushed ginger snaps in place of graham crackers as a nice contract to the lemon. Also might try with a mix of flour, ground almonds and butter. Husband loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I have made this cheesecake twice recently. The first time I didn't change anything, except omit the cinnamon, and we loved it. The next time I made it with my homemade Greek yogurt instead of cottage cheese and added the zest of 1/2 lemon. It was delicious this time also. Both times I topped it with cherry pie filling. Thank you Sheryl K. for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is one of the best recipes I've come across. It's just wonderful! I sometimes replace the lemon juice with orange juice and zest, strawberry juice or pineapple juice, you name it. Have also added coconut. Don't think you can go wrong this recipe. It's delicious, easy and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etherealmaterial

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made this with my mom and sister and it is very good. I couldn't tell if it was cottage cheese or cream cheese. I saved a lot of money by not going out and buying a $30 cheesecake at a bakery. I like how there is enough time for it to bake. I love it !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States