Oma's Cottage Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I loved this recipe! The most affordable "cheesecake" around. Being a sugar addict, I added a bit more sugar and now realize I didn't need to. The cake would have been perfectly fine as written. I did not have lemon juice, so skipped it. I had some difficulty getting the top of the pie to brown, but maybe it was my oven. All in all, a fabulous "Google search" discovery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Slavin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
The cheesecake part of the title is a total misnomer . . .but seriously, it doesn't have any cream cheese or even low fat cheese that can be used in cheesecakes, so not sure why you'd expect it to taste like cheesecake. Admittedly, I hacked this recipe because I thought I had enough cottage cheese but I didn't so I used half Greek yogurt instead. It's more of a custard, which is what I thought it would be. It's not a bad custard, but it's not the greatest either. Hubs was not all that impressed, but he's eating it. He does not, however, want me to make it again. It didn't set while baking but firmed up as it cooled. this, however, is possibly because of my sub but it's all good. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Tried this recipe when I came into a full box (12)of 16 oz cottage cheese containers and I'm so glad I did!!! My family LOVED IT!!! And loved that its healthier than creamcheese cheesecake. Tastes GREAT. I too strained the cottage cheese for smoothness but thats all! I had to promise to make it again and again. Its so easy, I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Brilliant recipe that I will use again and again. I don't like adding a base as it adds extra calories. I used 1 x 500g of 2% fat cottage cheese, 2 eggs, half cup of honey, 3 tbsp plain flour, pinch of salt and 2 tsp vanilla extract - I didn't bother with the milk as I like a dense, creamy texture. I blended all these ingredients together until smooth and baked in individual ramekins in a roasting dish half filled with water. I baked them at 160c for 25 minutes and they are divine. Rich, smooth, creamy and I challenge anyone to guess these are low fat. The second time I made these, I added half a cup of crunchy peanut butter to the mixture before blending. Just gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Clarke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
OMG. I had no idea cottage cheese could taste so heavenly. I used a store-bought crust. I would probably double up the mixture next time but as is, it was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Delicious! And so easy to make. I will be adding this as a go to dessert recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STELLA613

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Of course this isn't like real cheesecake but it is a nice, easy substitute. I don't think I will add the milk next time and I will try and strain the cheese a little more. There seem to be endless variations so it will be good to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe with a few changes- no cinnamon in the crust, half the lemon juice, and added about 1/4 c. Cocoa powder as another reviewer did and half a block of no fat cream cheese I had leftover. If you omit all the lemon juice you lose the "cheesecakey" flavor and get a more puddingy result. The lemon gives it that tang and helps firm the cheesecake. My blender couldn't handle it so I used a bowl and an immersion hand blender. easy! It took about an hour and then I turned the oven off and left it cracked for about 15 minutes. It was firm, rich, and delicious- even my husband was amazed that cottage cheese could be so yummy! Thanks for sharing Oma's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I used a store bought deep dish pie crust instead of the graham cracker base. The texture of the cheese turned out great and the filling amount was perfect! I used 1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup honey as I wanted to keep it low on sweetness. Also threw in half of a banana into the mix and skipped the milk and lemon juice. Put in some lemon grinds for flavor. Used a hand blender for the mixing. Had some Kiwi lying around, so decorated with sliced Kiwi and orange grinds, it turned out great! Thank you for this easy recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I really liked this. I couldn't't tell there was no cream cheese. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States