Om Ali Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Great for dessert or even at breakfast time. Also I use croissants instead of filo pastry, just break them up into small pieces it's very easy. I also sprinkle a little saffron on the top for 'decoration' :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I am Egyptian and have been looking for a good Om Ali recipe, similar to the one I adore in Egypt. This IS it! Thanks Nancy for sharing a wonderful recipe - anymore Egyptian/Mediterranean recipes, please share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Wow! Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I thought this was absolutely amazing! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This is a special (BUT SUPER RICH!) treat!!! What's that about this not being presentable?? Be creative! If a dish tastes great, then it most certainly can be made to look great, too! I cut the philo pastry into long strips, putting a layer of strips on the bottom of the pan, covering with half the nut mixture, layering with the rest of the pastry, and topping with the leftover nuts. Also, I cut down on the sugar... for me, sweet with 1/2 cup in the milk & 1/2 cup in the cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lengnau, Aargau, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
this tastes very good, sweet, and the whip cream is nice, but it isn't that "pretty" not something i would make to impress anyone, but a good dessert for the family to use up leftover pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
My wife and I honeymooned in Egypt in July 2001. We first had this dessert at a little place called Paprika's in Cairo, and INSTANTLY fell in love with it! This recipe is quick, easy, and really captures the taste as we remember it. Doug & Michelle Eckert (East WIndsor, NJ)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
Great dessert. Sweet and hugely "more-ish". I recommend varying the nuts and fruit to include flaked almonds and sultanas mixed with chopped dates. I live in the Middle East and eat Om Ali from the finest hotels here and this recipe is as good as any of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States