Om Ali Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Was a winner made it for a party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
My husband is from Egypt. When I told him i found this recipe he went insane, telling me I must make it. The amount of sugar shocked me, but was not overly sweet as i assumed it would be. There was a bit of milk in the bottom but he told me most shops have it a little liquidy. I ended up baking mine longer to make it a little thicker for me, but my husband says this recipe is how it should be made. I love the taste, no complaints here. It's just my taste to have it a little thicker. I also skipped the raisins, but I assume if someone likes raisins, it would taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberShahin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was good however I did not watch it the first time when I broiled it and had my timer set for 10 mins and it burned it really bad. Second time, I watched it and in about 7 minutes it got slightly burned. Still tasted good, Just make sure to watch it carefully when you broil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Awesome and different! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marikka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny B
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This thickened up more after sitting in the fridge overnight. I don't know what this is supposed to taste like but it was good, just waaaaay too much sugar. I think you could safely halve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I have a similar recipe and I make this dessert often. As I know there no one "right" recipe for this dessert. You may substitute some nuts, play with amount. I use walnuts, hazelnuts, raisins, dates and coconut. I bring milk and sugar to a boil and then I add 1 egg. Be sure to use heavy cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This wasn't a bad meal. It was more of an unexpected taste; like a warm cereal. If you make it, make sure you don't do what I did and that is: try and crush the nuts yourself...spend the money and buy the nuts already deshelled. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hulahaqq

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Great for dessert or even at breakfast time. Also I use croissants instead of filo pastry, just break them up into small pieces it's very easy. I also sprinkle a little saffron on the top for 'decoration' :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I am Egyptian and have been looking for a good Om Ali recipe, similar to the one I adore in Egypt. This IS it! Thanks Nancy for sharing a wonderful recipe - anymore Egyptian/Mediterranean recipes, please share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Wow! Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States