Om Ali Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Delicious but next time we will cut back on the amount of sugar, we only used half the package of phyllo and also for nuts husband requested pistachios, cashews, and slivered almonds. He is from Egypt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
My husband made this for me today and, although delicious, I found it waaaay too sweet. We didn't expect that from the stated amount. I would suggest cutting back possibly by half a cup and take into consideration if your coconut flakes are sweetened or not. If you are going to make it with the suggested amount of nuts (which really is way more than most people put into such a dish) be sure to use a longer, possibly more shallow, dish. That way the nuts are more spread out. This recipe definitely has the potential to be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Was a winner made it for a party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
My husband is from Egypt. When I told him i found this recipe he went insane, telling me I must make it. The amount of sugar shocked me, but was not overly sweet as i assumed it would be. There was a bit of milk in the bottom but he told me most shops have it a little liquidy. I ended up baking mine longer to make it a little thicker for me, but my husband says this recipe is how it should be made. I love the taste, no complaints here. It's just my taste to have it a little thicker. I also skipped the raisins, but I assume if someone likes raisins, it would taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberShahin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was good however I did not watch it the first time when I broiled it and had my timer set for 10 mins and it burned it really bad. Second time, I watched it and in about 7 minutes it got slightly burned. Still tasted good, Just make sure to watch it carefully when you broil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Awesome and different! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marikka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny B
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This thickened up more after sitting in the fridge overnight. I don't know what this is supposed to taste like but it was good, just waaaaay too much sugar. I think you could safely halve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I have a similar recipe and I make this dessert often. As I know there no one "right" recipe for this dessert. You may substitute some nuts, play with amount. I use walnuts, hazelnuts, raisins, dates and coconut. I bring milk and sugar to a boil and then I add 1 egg. Be sure to use heavy cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This wasn't a bad meal. It was more of an unexpected taste; like a warm cereal. If you make it, make sure you don't do what I did and that is: try and crush the nuts yourself...spend the money and buy the nuts already deshelled. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hulahaqq

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Great for dessert or even at breakfast time. Also I use croissants instead of filo pastry, just break them up into small pieces it's very easy. I also sprinkle a little saffron on the top for 'decoration' :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States