Olympic Gold Medal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Best oatmeal cookies by far!! I changed the recipe a little*** and they came out just perfect! I made them bigger about 4 inch diameter, added 2 onz of milk and one cup of coconut shaves. I only used 3/4 of the butter and increased the cooking time from 20 to 30 minutes. Result: I've created a monster cookie, chewy in the center and crispy edges. Delicioso!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
pretty good, but a little too sweet. Good texture. Nice use of oats and wheat germ to sneak in some fiber! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I make these for my crew at the firehouse and they are a huge hit! Especially when we get busy...we can grab one of these cookies & go. They really tide us over until we get the chance to eat a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbeuler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Wow! I had a bad experience with this recipe. The dough looked okay, maybe a bit too sugary, but it sure didn't look like it would melt flat onto the cookie sheet! (I'm glad I greased the sheet as instructed.) The only change I made to this recipe was to use whole wheat flour, but that shouldn't have caused the awful results I got. I'm sad I wasted all the good ingredients I did on this recipe. Maybe I can make it into some kind of musli or granola or something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy G.
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I had to add regular raisins as I had no golden, but will try them another time. I would have liked to added walnuts but I wanted my 19 mth old can't have nuts yet. Added a half teaspoon of cinnamon. I let the cookies bake for 12 minutes and took them out looking a little gooey to avoid crispiness that others reviewers complained about. A nice oatmeal cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
These are the best oatmeal type cookie I have ever baked. I grind the oatmeal in the blender and add ground flaxseed. I reduce the sugar by 45g and use wholemeal flour. Also, I use raw sugar instead of brown and white sugar. Everyone who has tried these cookies loves them. P.S. My oven bakes these in 17min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Sometimes I am tempted to try other oatmeal cookie recipes, but I always return to this one. It is a favorite cookie of my daughter-in-law, and many other family members. I don't think this recipe can be improved, and I am always suspect of anyone who grades a recipe when they alter it! I have found the light raisins make the cookies superior. I have used dark raisins when I did not have light ones, the result is not the same outstanding cookie. I usually don't use the nuts -- due to family preferences -- but they are great either way. I am surprised this recipe doesn't have more reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
although the taste was ok, but nothing super impressive, my family likes soft chewy sort cookies better. These bake to very thin and very crispy. My kids did eat them but my husband would not. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa Neiding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I followed this recipe exactly as written, but I was pretty disappointed in the outcome. The taste itself is very good, but tasted like other easier oatmeal cookies recipes I have made. I think 1 cup of butter is too much and the cookies tasted a little too buttery and probably added to the other problem I had. The cookie dough was pretty easy to make, but that was where the ease ended. Making these the exact size stated in the recipe doesn't work. Cooked for 20 minutes, ours still were not done so we baked them a little more. After taking them out of the oven and letting them sit for a few minutes, they still fell apart. Maybe it is a typo in the printed recipe, but the dough should be dropped onto the cookie sheet in a teaspoon, not a Tablespoon. Sorry, but I think I will stick to other oatmeal cookie recipes and just add wheat germ to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
A perfectly flavored, crispy cookie!!! I made them for my husband to bring to work and everyone raved about them!!!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States