Olive and Blue Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
My 13 year old daughter made it for Thanksgiving and it just disappeared under our eyes!!! It is fabulous though we changed the plain green olives for anchovy-stuffed olives which added an extra layer of flavour. In addition to the olives we also mixed in some creamed blue cheese and crumbled Roqueford. Yummy,Yummy! You can't go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Fantastic flavor! All the guests at my wine and cheese party loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I followed this recipe verbatim and absolutely loved it! I made it for my contribution towards our 12 Days of Christmas office celebration last year. It was gone within 30 minutes of putting it on the table! I received so many compliments, I'm serving it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I also make this, and actually prefer it with chopped black olives. I've taken a double-batch to a potluck dinner and had not a bit left at the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
The only reason I'm not giving this recipe five stars is because I don't follow it exactly. I have made it several times and NEVER use the butter. It turns out beautifully without it. I used a 4 oz container of blue cheese, which is plenty. I also skip the chives unless I'm going to be using them for something else (no reason to buy a packet of them just for this.) After gathering the mixture (mixed well in my stand mixer) into a ball, I roll in chopped walnuts. I wrap it in plastic and then stick it In bowl so it retains its shape in the refrigerator. Definitely make it the day before so that the flavors meld together and the ball sets up. I usually make two cheese balls for parties...this is the most popular one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Perfect appetizer. The favors blended perfectly and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Thank you for this yummy recipe! I didnt make it quite as specified, but I'm sure it would be yummy that way too. I used black olives, as a few others have, because they come already minced up in a can that's the perfect size. I could not find fresh chives to save my life, so I used four green onions instead. I added the last little tiny bit of ranch dressing in the bottle, just because, and half an avocado all mashed up in the cheese, also just because. It's really good! Will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGARET CARR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I have made this several times and I always have to make myself stop eating it!!! I do think it tastes best if mixed a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was great! I put it out and it disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I used sliced green olives with the pimientos and I thought this was quite tasty and festive. I'll be making this for our family's Christmas Eve gathering, and many more times, I'm sure! Brought it to a pot-luck gathering and someone requested the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Pepper Cheese Ball on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes make a top-rated cheese ball on the Better Show.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States