Olive Salad for Muffalettas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This statisfied my pregnant-woman craving for olives. I ate most of it straight out of the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This stuff is fantastic! I used store brand olives and artichoke hearts, and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I found a great improvement in the taste by using the kalamata olives in place of the black olives (Mezzetta brand has a pitted version so you don't have to deal with pitting them; I'm sure there are others). I also used marinated veggies (bottled giardiniera) in place of artichoke hearts, personal preference. I had to look up a muffaletta sandwich online to complete this sandwich. The basic version contains lettuce and tomato, ham and salami, provolone and of course this olive salad. It's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Delicious! My husband and I attended a wedding and they served olive tapenada with sliced bagettes as an appetizer. He loved it and asked me to try and make it at home. I'm glad I found this recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
After paying $15.00 for a jar of muffaletta I set out to find a recipe to make. This recipe is great! It was so easy to make and I will use it for the holidays on cheese and cracker boards (it keeps in the fridge for quite some time). I added 3-4 T of rinsed capers and some lemon juice to get the flavor that I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Townshend, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is my mother's recipe. Only the best! This salad is very filling, but you never feel that weighted down, bloated feeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meadow Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This recipe is great, both as a sandwich spread with turkey but also as a Tapanade (served with crackers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Newman, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Very authentic if you are missing those New Orleans flavors! I also cut the red vinegar in 1/2 which worked, however, if you are going to keep it more than a couple days keep full amount so it doesn't dry out. Also great to just serve on french bread as snack. I think it may also mix well with cold pasta, haven't tried it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Served this at a party as a dip for crackers--was a big hit! The onion was really strong though, will use less next time or a sweeter onion variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty, tangy chicken salad in three simple steps.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States