Olive Salad for Muffalettas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I found a great improvement in the taste by using the kalamata olives in place of the black olives (Mezzetta brand has a pitted version so you don't have to deal with pitting them; I'm sure there are others). I also used marinated veggies (bottled giardiniera) in place of artichoke hearts, personal preference. I had to look up a muffaletta sandwich online to complete this sandwich. The basic version contains lettuce and tomato, ham and salami, provolone and of course this olive salad. It's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Thank you for submitting this recipe! I've been a lover of olive salad for years and never thought i could make it taste right at home, but it's just like at the restaurant! I halved the oil and vinegar and its perfect for me. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Excellent salad, especially for one of my favorite sandwiches! I used half kalamata and half black olives in addition to the green olives. I also added some chopped roasted sweet red pepper for color and flavor, and fresh pressed garlic instead of the dried. I've been looking for something like this ever since my friend brought home a jarred olive salad she bought in New Orleans, and this is even better! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Salm Klysen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Fantastic! I've been looking for a good olive salad recipe ever since we discovered muffalettas in N'Awlins four years ago ~ this is the closest I've tasted. It's great in almost any meat or meat and cheese sandwich ~ thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Delicious! I didn't end up using as much vinegar and olve oil, but we loved it. I also baked 1 cup of it into the Mediterranean Black Olive bread recipe from this site, and it was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
We use this as the base on our Greek inspired pizza. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is more delicious if you let it sit overnight in the fridge, so the flavors can blend. Don't cut the oil in half!, per other reviewers, unless you're using this as a dip for crackers...the flavored oil soaks into the bread and helps to flavor the whole sandwich. Really good with mortadella ham, dry salami, and even turkey, and provolone cheese. I used emeril's muffaletta recipe for the meats, and I like to serve this at DH's poker games; never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
YUM! The original cookbook recipe I had called for an olive salad (black&green olives and celery... heavy on the vinegar) in the sandwich. This was a FAR better addition! Even though I didn't have artichokes on hand, it was wonderful; though I can't wait to try this the "right" way. Also, I used white wine vinegar instead, and it was good. A splendid salad fixing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is delicious! I spread it on all my sandwhiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perham, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hawley, Minnesota, USA
Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
We really liked this salad on our muffalettas. I added fresh parsley, and roasted red peppers. I chopped it by hand to have a chunky salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Sauerkraut Salad

Quick and easy salad with sauerkraut and vegetables. Great as a side, or on top o

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States