Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This is a great base recipe, but I did do a few things differently. I first salted each piece of eggplant, let it sit for 30 minutes, drained and then rinsed each piece with water. This allows it to lose a lot of moisture so that the roasting gives it a very nice texture and consistency. Then I added basil, oregano and garlic powder to spice it up so that I can serve this with pasta and sauce. It is a delightful alternative to eggplant parm, and a lot healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
900 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
1. This is a very good basic recipe for roasted eggplant, and you can pretty much change the seasonings at will to match whatever you may wish to eat the eggplant with. I've tended to leave it at salt, pepper, and basil and it comes out terrific every time. 2. As other reviewers have mentioned, salting the eggplant first and then letting it sit to drain is a *must* for this recipe. Not only does it take out some of the moisture to improve the texture for roasting, but it also cuts the bitterness of the eggplant. I've tried it both ways; salting, draining, rinsing, and drying the eggplant beforehand gives a *much* tastier and better textured end product. 3. When you roast the eggplant at this temp/time, the cut surfaces get nice and crispy and the insides turn beautifully tender. If you like the crispy outer texture that roasted vegetables can sometimes get, cut the eggplant into smaller pieces (say, eighths instead of the quarters it calls for in the recipe) to maximize the surface area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
591 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I agree this is a good base recipe. I added more olive oil, to which I stirred in a large amount of minced garlic. I also added dried basil to the salt and pepper. My husband loves eggplant and he loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cola, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I sliced the eggplant diagonally and sprinkled both sides of the slices with salt and let them sweat for about 1/2 an hour. I then rinsed them and put them between paper towels. I lined a cookie sheet with foil and sprayed with Pam, placed the eggplant slices on and brushed with a mix of olive oil and crushed garlic and sprinkled with salt & pepper. I think the sweating part makes a huge difference. The outside of the eggplant was crispy and browned while the inside was tender. Very simple and healthy recipe. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was really tasty. I added minced garlic, dried thyme and basil, plus some pepper and salt to the olive oil before brushing it on. Roasting brought out the natural sweetness of the eggplant. Really delicious - my 10 month old loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This was a delicious recipe, I really liked it and didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was pretty good. Nice healthy way to have eggplant. I also let the eggplant sit in salt for while, I find it's the only way eggplant cooks well. I added garlic powder and some dried cilantro to them when baking and then dumped half a lemon's juice on them when I removed from oven. Yum! Thanks to whoever posted this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This is a very basic but solid recipe. Good for a night when you don't feel like putting in too much effort in the kitchen but want something healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Easy breezy and so delicious! I just followed the recipe and it came out just fine. I did add whole peeled garlic cloves in the pan and served this with thin spagettini, artichoke hearts and jarred roasted peppers, tossed with a tad of light olive oil. A nice healthy meal, quick, easy and tasty! One thing to remember is to bake this in glass ovenware such as pyrex, never aluminum. Also when slicing the eggplant, use only stainless steel knife. Anything metal will ruin the flavor. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I chopped the eggplant into smaller bit sized pieces and sprinked them with salt. I then let the pieces in a strainer to drian for about 30 mins...then rinsed and pressed with paper towels. I mixed them in a bowl with enough olive oil just to coat then placed on lightly oiled aluminium foiled pan. Sprinlked salt pepper onion powder garlic powder and smoked paprika. Bake until goldn brown and squeeze fresh lemon juice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States