Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was a not bad recipe. I am not a huge eggplant fan though. My husband really liked it! I took the advice of others here and salted it and let it sit for 30 minutes. It did help with the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
1. This is a very good basic recipe for roasted eggplant, and you can pretty much change the seasonings at will to match whatever you may wish to eat the eggplant with. I've tended to leave it at salt, pepper, and basil and it comes out terrific every time. 2. As other reviewers have mentioned, salting the eggplant first and then letting it sit to drain is a *must* for this recipe. Not only does it take out some of the moisture to improve the texture for roasting, but it also cuts the bitterness of the eggplant. I've tried it both ways; salting, draining, rinsing, and drying the eggplant beforehand gives a *much* tastier and better textured end product. 3. When you roast the eggplant at this temp/time, the cut surfaces get nice and crispy and the insides turn beautifully tender. If you like the crispy outer texture that roasted vegetables can sometimes get, cut the eggplant into smaller pieces (say, eighths instead of the quarters it calls for in the recipe) to maximize the surface area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
580 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This was great, but I forgot the lemon juice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChereenH
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is good! I used baby eggplant (about a dozen) and halved them. They were crispy on the outside and creamy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChereenH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I had never tried eggplant until I made this, and I was pleasantly surprised! I made half of the batch exactly as the directions stated and added garlic powder, onion powder, Italian seasoning, and shredded parmesan to the rest. I think it tasted great both ways. Thanks for a great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was pretty tasty! It was my first eggplant experience, so I don't have anything to compare it to, but the eggplant came out tender and the flavors were good. I'll make this again, especially when I'm feeling lazy but want to feel like I ate a healthy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhealy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Super easy, super tasy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Fantastic, indeed! So simple, and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Another vegetable I never thought of roasting, until someone posts a simple recipe like this. I added a little garlic powder while it roasted and I served open face on homemade bread with feta cheese on top. We loved it. Thanks Sandra, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States