Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I sliced the eggplant diagonally and sprinkled both sides of the slices with salt and let them sweat for about 1/2 an hour. I then rinsed them and put them between paper towels. I lined a cookie sheet with foil and sprayed with Pam, placed the eggplant slices on and brushed with a mix of olive oil and crushed garlic and sprinkled with salt & pepper. I think the sweating part makes a huge difference. The outside of the eggplant was crispy and browned while the inside was tender. Very simple and healthy recipe. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was simple and healthy, but not very lemony. I think next time I would put the lemon juice on before baking, so it can better absorb into the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I am a recently turned vegan who is on the hunt for tasty new recipes. This dish was perfect! I made it with some vegan pasta noodle drizzled in olive oil, onion, garlic and cherry tomatos. Thank you for reminding me that I do not need meat or dairy to make a fantasic meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
A simple, easy very tasty recipe. Yes, definitely salt, rinse and pat dry first. I added a few cloves of garlic, salt and pepper to the oil and then brushed on. The skin is chewy and the flesh creamy. Tasted fantastic with lamb curry. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was a not bad recipe. I am not a huge eggplant fan though. My husband really liked it! I took the advice of others here and salted it and let it sit for 30 minutes. It did help with the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
1. This is a very good basic recipe for roasted eggplant, and you can pretty much change the seasonings at will to match whatever you may wish to eat the eggplant with. I've tended to leave it at salt, pepper, and basil and it comes out terrific every time. 2. As other reviewers have mentioned, salting the eggplant first and then letting it sit to drain is a *must* for this recipe. Not only does it take out some of the moisture to improve the texture for roasting, but it also cuts the bitterness of the eggplant. I've tried it both ways; salting, draining, rinsing, and drying the eggplant beforehand gives a *much* tastier and better textured end product. 3. When you roast the eggplant at this temp/time, the cut surfaces get nice and crispy and the insides turn beautifully tender. If you like the crispy outer texture that roasted vegetables can sometimes get, cut the eggplant into smaller pieces (say, eighths instead of the quarters it calls for in the recipe) to maximize the surface area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
592 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This was great, but I forgot the lemon juice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChereenH
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is good! I used baby eggplant (about a dozen) and halved them. They were crispy on the outside and creamy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChereenH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I had never tried eggplant until I made this, and I was pleasantly surprised! I made half of the batch exactly as the directions stated and added garlic powder, onion powder, Italian seasoning, and shredded parmesan to the rest. I think it tasted great both ways. Thanks for a great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was pretty tasty! It was my first eggplant experience, so I don't have anything to compare it to, but the eggplant came out tender and the flavors were good. I'll make this again, especially when I'm feeling lazy but want to feel like I ate a healthy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhealy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States