Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
First time I've preparred Eggplant. I cut into 1/8s instead of 1/4s and drained for 30 minutes as suggested by review Seasoned with basil, salt and pepper. Next time I will cook an extra 10 minutes for more crispy outside. I think I would add a bit of garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Wife approved! I made it for my wife and she gave it a 5 stars. She loved it. She ate it before I could put the lemon juice on so I took it and put lemon juice on it . She said I liked it without the lemon juice... But at the end she liked it either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I followed the directions exactly, but didn't put lemon juice on it and I thought it still tasted wonderful. I think it's a really good alternative to potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarylLeigh Conner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This was perfect. I made it with some foot-long Japanese eggplants out of my garden, cut into slivers. I let it sweat for 30 minutes, and then drained it. While the oven was heating up, I tossed in salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, and the olive oil. I let these soak in for ten minutes. I cooked it for the time and at the temperature suggested here. It came out beautifully. I served it on some fresh-baked ciabatta, with feta cheese and some marinara sauce. My three brothers, sister, parents, and boyfriend all had seconds and scolded me for not making more. I will make this again and again and again. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very good. A couple of things were done differently. I salted the pieces and let them sweat 30 minutes and then rinsed and dried them. I placed the oil, minced garlic, salt, and pepper in a plastic bag then added the eggplant to coat. I then placed them skin side down on the baking sheet and continued as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
It's in the oven right now. I did the salt and rinse before proceeding, but how can you place it skin-side down when it has been sliced as instructed? Still, it's an appealing and simple way to cook eggplant and I look forward to digging in ! (If I'm disappointed, will come back and say so, but I'm an optimistic cook!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
WAS a great recipe when I cut it thinner and into patties :|... Don't much like the cutting directions you give here, it turned a good recipe to . Rather than cutting down the length just cut it the short way. It'll cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Great quick simple recipe. As other users suggested I salted the eggplant after slicing and let it drain for about a half hour before roasting. This will keep the eggplant from getting mushy, I added garlic powder for flavor and was pleased with the result. It makes a great quick side dish or even a yummy crunchy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I liked this. I usually have trouble cooking eggplant but this was super easy! I added some garlic seasoning to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSSERICA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by DemonGoddess
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
very good. I brushed both sides with olive oil, pepper both sides, salted one side and cooked the salt side up. Then 20 minutes in. I flipped it up to side without salt and used Parmesan cheese on top (the parmesan I have is very salty). It was delicious. next time I will try no salt at all and just a small mound of Parmesan cheese on top. the last 5 minutes put it on broil so the cheese gets crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States