Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This was perfect. I made it with some foot-long Japanese eggplants out of my garden, cut into slivers. I let it sweat for 30 minutes, and then drained it. While the oven was heating up, I tossed in salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, and the olive oil. I let these soak in for ten minutes. I cooked it for the time and at the temperature suggested here. It came out beautifully. I served it on some fresh-baked ciabatta, with feta cheese and some marinara sauce. My three brothers, sister, parents, and boyfriend all had seconds and scolded me for not making more. I will make this again and again and again. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very good. A couple of things were done differently. I salted the pieces and let them sweat 30 minutes and then rinsed and dried them. I placed the oil, minced garlic, salt, and pepper in a plastic bag then added the eggplant to coat. I then placed them skin side down on the baking sheet and continued as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
It's in the oven right now. I did the salt and rinse before proceeding, but how can you place it skin-side down when it has been sliced as instructed? Still, it's an appealing and simple way to cook eggplant and I look forward to digging in ! (If I'm disappointed, will come back and say so, but I'm an optimistic cook!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
WAS a great recipe when I cut it thinner and into patties :|... Don't much like the cutting directions you give here, it turned a good recipe to . Rather than cutting down the length just cut it the short way. It'll cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Great quick simple recipe. As other users suggested I salted the eggplant after slicing and let it drain for about a half hour before roasting. This will keep the eggplant from getting mushy, I added garlic powder for flavor and was pleased with the result. It makes a great quick side dish or even a yummy crunchy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I liked this. I usually have trouble cooking eggplant but this was super easy! I added some garlic seasoning to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSSERICA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by DemonGoddess
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
very good. I brushed both sides with olive oil, pepper both sides, salted one side and cooked the salt side up. Then 20 minutes in. I flipped it up to side without salt and used Parmesan cheese on top (the parmesan I have is very salty). It was delicious. next time I will try no salt at all and just a small mound of Parmesan cheese on top. the last 5 minutes put it on broil so the cheese gets crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Easy and delicious I usually season/ over season my veggies but this shows me that simple is awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This came out amazing. I cut the eggplant in the manner recommended, then I put it all in a large bowl, drizzled olive oil over the eggplant, added sea salt, black pepper, fresh parsley, cilantro, dill, and tossed it by hand in the bowl, then let all the herbs and spices soak in for a few minutes as the oven heated. Placed the pieces on the parchment paper as directed, roasted according to temp and time listed here, and voila! I forgot the lemon at the end, but with all the other herbs I added, it was plenty flavorful. My kids and I loved it, and even my husband, who swore off eggplant forever 23 years ago after having it served to him literally twice a day for two months at a summer camp job in college, said it was really good and had some. ;) Thanks for a VERY easy and DELICIOUS recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I tried this recipe today and I was so diappointed. It came out very salty, totally inedible! I followed other commenters advice to put salt on eggplant and sweat it for 30 mins. I rinsed it and then it still absorbed the salt. It still came out a bit mushy, not crispy... I would welcome ideas what to do different next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States