Olive Oil Dip for Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I chose not to use this as a dip, I actually used it as a salad dressing for Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad. This was exactly what I was looking for. It was an excellent addition to my salad. The longer it sits, the better it gets. VERY good and insanely simple. I'll use this "dressing" recipe again. NOTE: I cannot stress enough how important it is to use a quality balsamic. Mine pours out almost like molasses and the flavor is incredible. Using a cheaper balsamic will give you inferior results. Trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Fabulous! This makes a great appetizer served with warm italian bread. I love to get this in restaurants and it was nice to be able to do this at home. I decreased the amount of balsamic vinegar (and I love balsamic). I also used minced garlic from a jar. I added a little kosher salt and if you like a little kick try adding 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was just okay for us. I made the recipe as written. Although the dip was flavorful, we felt there was too much garlic and oregano added which tasted very spicey. Maybe we are just used to the olive oil dip at the restaurants that they pour from a bottle and the spices are marinating in the bottle, not ending up on the bread. I will try again making adjustments to the oregano and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
We really enjoyed this. I found this at the last minute when i decided I wanted a dipping sauce for my fresh baguettes for a dinner party. I was searching for the recipe I usually used, but this new one caught my eye and I decided to give it a whirl (I love trying new recipes w/just a few reviews)! I followed the recipe (w/the exception of subbing pre-minced garlic for fresh pressed), but I split it on 3 saucer sized plates. TY for a great recipe, Jill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Awesome dipping oil for bread. I used the left over oil and bread to make the most delicious croutons. Take left overs a put into a gallon sized zip bag. Shake to cover bread evenly. Place on a cookie sheet under a low broil. Broil for about 1 minute on each side. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jordy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Yum, we really liked this. Very flavorful. Might be a tad too much balsamic for me, but that's easy to adjust. I'm a garlic nut, so you can't have enough IMO. I used my garden grown, dried oregano and more fresh parm. I even used some of this mixture in my Garlic & Herb Cream Cheese stuffed mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I found this recipe after looking for a bread dip. I have a heart condition and shouldn't have bread and butter so this fit the doctor's bill. I didn't measure the ingredients, mixed them all together, omitted the cheese and added oregano (I love oregano) and it was great. I would recommend this to all who are eating a heart healthy diet. But be sure to use whole grain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wenzel Soliday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This was Okay. I did not add as much garlic...5 cloves just seemed extreme (cut to 2). Make sure you use a really good olive oil and balsamic vinegar for the best taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
OMG! This tastes just like the restaurants oil!! I used pre-chopped garlic (the one in the glass jar sealed w/ water) and powdered parmesean as opposed to the fresh stuff- it was still delish!! And super easy too. I had enough for the next day's lunch and it tastes yummy the next day as well. This is one for the recipe book- great if you are making a romantic/special dinner!Super quick (like one min.) and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Definitely decrease the amount of balsamic vinegar and add kosher salt. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States