Olive Oil Dip for Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Fabulous! This makes a great appetizer served with warm italian bread. I love to get this in restaurants and it was nice to be able to do this at home. I decreased the amount of balsamic vinegar (and I love balsamic). I also used minced garlic from a jar. I added a little kosher salt and if you like a little kick try adding 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
My husband and I liked this, but both thought it needed more olive oil. It was a bit chunkier than we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I thought that this had way too much balsamic vinegar in it; next time I make it I will probably only use 1/2 tbsp. I only had three cloves of garlic so that is all I used and I thought that was plenty. Overall though this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Yum, we really liked this. Very flavorful. Might be a tad too much balsamic for me, but that's easy to adjust. I'm a garlic nut, so you can't have enough IMO. I used my garden grown, dried oregano and more fresh parm. I even used some of this mixture in my Garlic & Herb Cream Cheese stuffed mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Easy, quick and good. don't know if it's really like the restaurants--this is more of a balsamic salad dressing to me, but we both liked it. helped us use just a little bit more of our italian bread. thanks for the recipe1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was just okay for us. I made the recipe as written. Although the dip was flavorful, we felt there was too much garlic and oregano added which tasted very spicey. Maybe we are just used to the olive oil dip at the restaurants that they pour from a bottle and the spices are marinating in the bottle, not ending up on the bread. I will try again making adjustments to the oregano and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very, very good. This was just what I was looking for as a last minute addition to our italian dinner with breadsticks! Good job on this one and thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Very easy to do. I cut down on the garlic cloves so I would reccommend only 1 or 2 but just be sure to taste it before you add all the garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Great with a loaf of hot french bread! Followed directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Doyle Lundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
We really enjoyed this. I found this at the last minute when i decided I wanted a dipping sauce for my fresh baguettes for a dinner party. I was searching for the recipe I usually used, but this new one caught my eye and I decided to give it a whirl (I love trying new recipes w/just a few reviews)! I followed the recipe (w/the exception of subbing pre-minced garlic for fresh pressed), but I split it on 3 saucer sized plates. TY for a great recipe, Jill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States