Olive Oil Cranberry Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This cake is really good and light. I would recommend it to anyone. It is also good for you since it is made with olive oil instead of butter, and egg whites only. Yet, you would not know this when you taste the cake. By the way, I used light olive oil (not the extra virgin one) and omitted the cranberry and spices, and instead added 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1/2 teaspoon lemon flavoring, and 1 tbsp grated orange zest. It was delicious. My revised name for this cake is "Mediterranean Orange Cake". I also made a glaze using powdered sugar and some orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
This is a fantastic bundt cake recipe. It's possibly the most moist cake I've ever made and it got raves at a party I made it for. The only problem with it is the cranberries are overpowered by the spices. If I make it again I'll leave out either the cranberries or the spices. The base cake itself is really great and I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Very moist, mellow flavor. Might add more cranberries next time. A little dark looking. People hesitated because of the words "olive oil", but when encouraged to taste a bite they all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This is an incredible cake, I am a new cook and this is the first cake I’ve made, it was so much fun. My Mom and Dad loved this cake, the sweetness and spices were just right for us, and I loved the occasional tartness of cranberry. I did make 2 changes, I used corn oil and used 4 whole eggs for more flavor, instead of 6 egg whites. I separated the eggs, adding the yokes while putting in the buttermilk. I will definitely be making this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Davidson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
Really tasty, not too sweet like some cakes. I used "extra virgin" olive oil and didn't find the flavor too strong. I also used the orange zest, plus lemon extract as other review mentioned, but still put 1/4 tsp cinammon in batter + the cranberries. The cake tastes wonderful and looks great. If you have a real sweet tooth, you might want to make a glaze for it, but I like it this way, myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was a very tasty cake. Like other reviewers suggested, I cut the oil in half and it turned out great. It came out a little dark, so I'd start checking it at 50 minutes instead of an hour. Thia was the perfect holiday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I also omitted the cranberries (and cloves, since I only had whole) and used used orange zest and a tsp of Madagascar Vanilla as suggested by others. I made it in a 9 in cake pan, and served it with fresh (unsweetened) whipped cream, blackberries, and strawberries. This was even better than the same cake served at a local 5-star Philly restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Excellent taste and texture. I tried out this recipe to get a healthier alternative to a butter/whole egg dessert. I did substitute 1/2 tsp. ginger for some of the cloves (cloves are very strong and wintery for my taste). I used a Spanish olive oil described as "fruity" in taste. I will make this again with the blueberry option and serve it to guests!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This turned out great...but, I added 2.5 cups of chopped cranberries and only 1.5 cups sugar Will try next time to reduce the olive oil in half and sub in some mashed avocado to replace it. Spice amount as per recipe gave it a great taste and holiday scent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Thanks for submitting the recipe. I made alterations. I omitted the clove. I did not think that I needed it. I added vanilla liquer instead of cloves. I used 1/4 cup of agave nectar to replace 2 cups of sugar. I just did not need all that sugar because I used 1 1/2 cups of dried cranberries, and 1 1/2cups of chopped walnuts. It was too well done baking for 60mins. The next time I will let it cook for 45mins. instead, but a very nice cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States