Olive Oil Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Wonderful. Tastes like true European bread that one could get in a bakery or very nice restaurant. For those who had problems with dryness, I used 2 cups of flour to start with, as stated in the recipe, and then added until the dough felt right. Definitely not the entire half cup, perhaps a quarter cup or slightly less. I let it rise about an hour and a half. Also, I had a pan of water at the bottom of the often to provide moisture for the first twenty minutes or so of baking. I don't have anything to mist with, so I relied entirely on that method. Ended up with a great crust and soft tasty inside. All in all, it's pretty addictive, and I feel I could almost eat a whole loaf in one night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Skopje, Skopje, Macedonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Excellent bread! Moist, chewy, and flavorful. For all of the dry bread reviews, here is the trick ... add more water slowly, a little at a time, until the bread forms a ball. The ball should be sticky but not too sticky. This will prevent your bread from becoming dry or having too much flour in the recipe. bread recipes are tricky and the liquid amount varies depeding on where you live and what time of year it is. We live in Arizona and I used 1 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMARALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2000
This was the easiest yeast bread I've ever made. It makes a fairly small loaf so if your having company I would recommend making two loaves. I took this to a church dinner and there was none left at the end of the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
I loved this recipe! I added rosemary and a little more olive oil. It tasted wonderful. It tasted so good with grilled vegetable sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
When I made this bread, I only used 2 cups of flour; I got a delicious and moist loaf of bread! I also let it rise a bit longer than recommended, just because I had the time. Excellent bread, will definately make again, possibly to use as a pizza crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
this is a good bread tho i did add all the flour and had to add about 4 more TBSP of warm water...i added vital wheat gluten coz i do that with ALL the yeast breads i make...but it turned out to be a good loaf of bread with great texture...and not too big so good for just me...hehe I LUV fresh bread!!!...i spritzed/added ice cubes to the oven when it was baking and the crust is nice and crusty/crispy just like i like it and used extra virgin olive oil coz that is all i had...i always use olive oil instead of any other kind...i don't even buy other oils...so i really liked this recipe and will forsure make it again...thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
I made this recipe and it turned out very dry. In fact, I couldnt even form the dough into one loaf, I had to make several small rolls. I think it calls for too much flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
I tried this recipe twice and it turned out very dry both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
The recipe was very easy and the best part is, it tastes wonderful! I brushed the crust with butter immediately after removing from the oven. That made the crust especially good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I really liked this dense, flavorful bread (hubbie thought it was too dense). It was wonderful with beef and veggie soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Cambria, Missouri, USA
Living In: Leeton, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States