Olive Oil Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
this is a good bread tho i did add all the flour and had to add about 4 more TBSP of warm water...i added vital wheat gluten coz i do that with ALL the yeast breads i make...but it turned out to be a good loaf of bread with great texture...and not too big so good for just me...hehe I LUV fresh bread!!!...i spritzed/added ice cubes to the oven when it was baking and the crust is nice and crusty/crispy just like i like it and used extra virgin olive oil coz that is all i had...i always use olive oil instead of any other kind...i don't even buy other oils...so i really liked this recipe and will forsure make it again...thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I really liked this dense, flavorful bread (hubbie thought it was too dense). It was wonderful with beef and veggie soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Cambria, Missouri, USA
Living In: Leeton, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This bread has great flavor! When I removed the bread from the oven I poured more olive oil on top. Wonderfully flavorful bread. Thanks for the recipe. I did find the dough a bit dry too. I used less flour than recommended and more water. I used a Kitchen Aid, next time I'll hand knead it. Oh I took the leftover bread and sliced it into breadsticks. Added a little more oil, salt and basil and baked until crispy. Mmmm yummy breadsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT Fish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
The first time I made this it did not turn out. Then I realised I hadn't added enough olive oil, (duh) so I gave it another try and loved it. It's simple and quick to make. It's smaller so it works for my little family, plus it would be very easy to double. Very yummy!! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khask

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Came out pretty dry for me, the flavor was nice but was more of a biscuit texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeavenleeKid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Penthesilya
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
3rd time is a charm. As I am a newbie, I made tons of mistakes, so for other newbies. Tried twice, 1st time exactly as it says - got very dry, second time after reading the reviews: more water, less flour - got terrible dough and through it away. But I saw beautiful breads on pictures and really wanted to make this one, so I read about bread-making and this is what you need to do: 1.mix yeast with water and sugar and leave it to grow for about 8-10 min, should be some baubles. 2. Stir in ingredients (I will place half of oil next time) 1.5 cups of flour, see by the dough, then take it to covered with flour surface (and your hands should be in flour too) and knead it well, about 10 min. add in flour to it all the time till its elastic and not sticky. 3. Now is the tricky part - cover it and place into oven, don't heat it, just place the in order to not let the humidity to get to it (I live in a very-very high humidity, so my bread will never rise a lot, only this trick with oven helps a bit). Wait about 2 hours (I think one isn't enough). 4. Form a ball or a loaf, place on greased surface to bake, cover and wait 20 min (again in oven). Then make some cuts in dough. 5. Now in preheated oven (for mine it takes about 2 min to preheat) place a oven friendly bowl with water and your dough next to it and bake it about 40 min (I bake with lower temperature). I also rotate surface with dough when it begins to become brown so it would be the same color all over. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penthesilya

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was a pretty good bread, but not the best i've had. I spritzed the loaf with water while it was cooking to prevent the crust from burning and ended up covering it with foil for the last 10 min or so. I would brush this with butter and garlic salt or some extra spice next time. I was worried about adding 1 tsp salt, but it wasn't too salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I love this bread. I've made it several times now since my family makes a lot of chili, and it's the perfect bread to go along with it. I only use 2 cups of flour, and I usually add garlic salt and cheddar cheese to the dough, and brush olive oil and garlic powder on top before baking. There are a few other ways I've varied the recipe, and each time is delicious. This bread adapts wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This bread has a beautiful texture. The crust cuts easily without cracking and melts in the mouth, while the inside is slightly chewy and has a wonderful flavor. However, the recipe calls for too little liquid I believe. I used 1% milk instead of water, but when the dough didn't form (far too crumbly) I added a little water. It took forever to knead it into the dough, so I suggest adding an additional 1/4 cup of liquid from the start. Otherwise, this is amazing bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oisín Ó Searcóid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Standish, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I made this twice, thinking that I must've messed up for the bread to turn out this badly. Yikes! The texture was WAY too dry, it didn't rise at all, and it was overly salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States