Olive Oil Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I have used other french bread recipes but I really really like this one it has a good taste and very tender on the inside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twang65
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is a really simple bread. Like some of the other reviewers I only added 2 C. flour. I also used a Mix Master with a dough hook. I added probably 1 more T. olive oil while it was mixing and the dough came out perfect. I added rosemary into the dough and a little on top before I baked. i also added a pan of water at the bottom of the oven while it baked. This is a dense bread but delicious and a nice texture. I think if I make it again I would add just a little bit more salt but if you use salted butter on it it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twang65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I use this recipe for pizza crust. It's so easy to roll out on the pan, and it tastes great and cooks to have crispy edges -- YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
ok my worst nightmare is making bread. BUT I tried this twice and each time adding the salt to the yeast bowl KILLED the yeast. A few more of these and we could have built a hut ! Also, how long should I let the dought rise. I waited 4 hrs and the only thing that happened was NOTHING! Please be aware novices are reading your recipes and don't omit anything. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
The ratio of warm water to yeast is not right. This bread was hard and dry, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Awesome bread!!!! I put some basil into the mix and it turned out wonderful! I added 1 cup of water instead and used the ice cube method in the oven to make the crust crunchy; it is a wonderful recipe, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This bread didn't turn out well for me. I can only give it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I made the mistake of using white whole wheat flour first, and got a hard, dry lump instead of dough. I guess the oil needs a softer flour. With regular unbleached flour it's excellent, and easy. Within fifteen minutes of cutting it, my wife declared that I hadn't made enough, so I made another loaf. I might just double the quantities next time. The crust turned out crumbly, almost like a short crust. The bread was moist and very tasty. For such a simple and apparently reliable recipe I'm very satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This bread is easy and it's good, but we didn't like the texture, it came out quite dense with too oily of a texture for us. Maybe I had wanted a crusty bread and this just wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Terrible flavor. If I made again I'll try with vegetable oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States