Olive Oil Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I followed other suggestions and got a great loaf for butter and honey as a spread. I started with 2 cups of flour, added a bit more until it was slightly sticky. I let it rise for almost 2 hours for the first rise and a whole hour for the second. Also, I kneaded just until it was thoroughly mixed. This bread seemed dense when pulled out of the oven but it cut light and fluffy with a crisp crust. I would suggest reducing salt to 1/2 tsp. unless you want to top with jam or honey. The saltiness really mellowed out the sweetness of the honey and it was great but for eating with oil/butter or using for a sandwich it seems a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Totally agree with Tamarala and Amary -- a fine recipe for real Italian style bread...but needs a little more water and a little less flour than called for. Bread-makers probably remember that different conditions make for different instructions in bread-making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EJK
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I did have the problem of either too much flour or not enough water... Unfortunately, I didn't consider that the measurements might be a bit off, so I ended up having to knead water into it with my mixer and dough hooks. Once that was taken care of, it did become a really nice dough with a great smooth texture. I shaped it into a ball and cut an X in the top. After it finished rising, I brushed it with egg whites with a bit of water whisked in it to get a more crusty crust and sprinkled sesame seeds in the area of the X and poppy seeds on the outer sides just for a different look. It baked beautifully. Overall I am very pleased with the dough quality, after adding the extra water. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I only used two cups of flour and added about 1/8 a cup more water. Otherwise the dough would have been way too dry. Other than that, the bread was very dense and moist and the olive oil gave it an amazing taste. The crust was just right as well. My boyfriend and I ate the whole loaf in ten minutes it was that good! Next time I might add some fresh herbs or Parmesan to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haleyjo Elizabeth Hompstead

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
this recipe is great. I learned, you can over proof the yeast. It will swell and use to much of the liquid before you add it to the flour. which will make dry dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Cheney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Very nice bread. The inside is soft and the outside is crusty like a French or Italian loaf--and I made regular loaves in my bread pan. Perfect! It is tasty as well. I doubled it and had to add a bit of water. Loved it and will make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
So good! Mine didn't turn out very pretty, but it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiley Hanje

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
It was good. I'm glad I read the comments before making it, I did end up having to use more water, it was quite a process! LOL :D BUT....it was a fairly easy recipe with that adjustment. My only "complaint" is that the crust tasted funny....but I'm not sure if it was something I did in the process that caused it or not? The inside of the bread was nice and chewy and delicious. I will definitely try again and maybe use a better olive oil (I think I didn't use Extra Virgin, maybe that's the difference?). It was so easy to put together. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KittEnJ
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Bread turned out great but recipe left out 3 crucial things; only mix yeast with water and sugar until lots of bubbles (mine took 20 min), only absorb 2.25 cups of flour, and when u cover in bowl to let rise, this took 3 hours. Had to throw out first one. This recipe took @ 6 hrs, not 1.5. Loaf was 8" long, 4" wide, and 2.5" tall. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Made this with a chicken Milano recipe. We loved it. No leftovers! Crunchy outside and soft inside. Looked so impressive right out of the oven. I brushed with some garlic butter before baking. Also I made the three cuts on top as pictured. So yummy and easy to make! I will definitely double the recipe next time! also I did use King Author bred flour instead of all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States