Olive Lovers Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
My family has made a variation of this dip for over 40 years. Leave out the Catsups and add a little juice from the olive jar to thin the cream cheese. You also get a different favor if you process over chop your olives (we like Chopped). Great (addictive) with potato chips, or prezels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Have had this for years in different social circles but didn't know the measurements until I found it here. Omitted the ketchup (have never had it looking pinkish but to each his own). Simple and delish. I added a few tablespoons of olive juice as suggested (to taste - I went with 3 tbsp for a half batch) to give it extra flavor. Chilled for two hours and it was all melded. I only made a "half" batch with 1 block of cream cheese and half a jar of the green olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
5 stars for ease, speed, taste, and appearance. Tasted better on the 2nd day. We used it as a spread on crackers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I wasn't sure how this would turn out, but I made it for an office party and it was a huge hit! I used cocktail sauce instead of the ketchup as one reviewer suggested. Easy & yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
We have been making this dip for years! It is super simple and yummy. Sometimes we also will make it without the ketchup and that's really good too. Either way it's wonderful! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Suprisingly flavorful! I threw this in my mini-food processor and was done in one minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I didn't think it was that good. I followed the recipe exactly and took one of the suggestions of a fellow reviewer by rinsing the olives first to eliminate salt. It was still salty and the ketchup did nothing for it. I had enough ingredients to make a modification based on suggestions of other reviewers. I washed 10 medium sized olives. I placed them in a blender with 8oz cream cheese and 6 TBSP of mild taco sauce. For the final touch, I sprinkled the top with shredded cheddar cheese. This turned into a olive tasting southwestern dip. I'm glad I did a trial run before serving the original to my co-workers. I'm sure they would thank me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
looks as yummie as it tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julia-7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Like others said, way too salty. I probably added too much juice. Other than that, it's good! I also left out the ketchup and put in a 1/2 cup of sour cream. This made is creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
some garlic powder to taste really perks this up too! Spread on crackers, bagel chips etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States