Olive Lovers Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is the craziest recipe! It was surprisingly good. It was midnight before I remembered that I was having a potluck at work today, so I needed a recipe with few ingredients that I had on hand as the store was closed. If you are unsure about your fondness for green olives, this probably isn't a recipe for you. But I tell you what, I got several requests for the recipe and my bowl was pretty much licked clean. Don't omit the ketchup...I know, I was skeptical but it adds the right amount of secret flavor so it doesn't seem like you just bit into a brick of cream cheese with a mouth full of olives. This is actually a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: North Branch, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Have had this for years in different social circles but didn't know the measurements until I found it here. Omitted the ketchup (have never had it looking pinkish but to each his own). Simple and delish. I added a few tablespoons of olive juice as suggested (to taste - I went with 3 tbsp for a half batch) to give it extra flavor. Chilled for two hours and it was all melded. I only made a "half" batch with 1 block of cream cheese and half a jar of the green olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This is excellent. I do like it better without the ketchup I too chopped the olives used the juice of the olives very nice got great reviews from all who were here to taste it and from those who had never heard of such a dip Thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
looks as yummie as it tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julia-7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
We have been making this dip for years! It is super simple and yummy. Sometimes we also will make it without the ketchup and that's really good too. Either way it's wonderful! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Debbie
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
5 stars for ease, speed, taste, and appearance. Tasted better on the 2nd day. We used it as a spread on crackers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I just keep making and making this great recipe. Just throw it in my mini food processor and people uuuuu and ahhhhh as if I discovered penicillin! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Fantastic, but I did make some suggested changes: I rinsed the olives to get rid of some of the salt, and instead of the ketsup, I addd salsa and a little ground cumin. This dip was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rabat, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Wow, this recipe takes me back. It's been comfort food in my family since my mom was a kid. As written the recipe gets 4 stars, but leave out the ketchup and add a teaspoon of good paprika (the sweet Hungarian kind or Spanish smoked) and it goes up to 6 on a scale of 1-5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I LOVE olives. I have been making this dip (minus the ketchup) for years, I, too, add some of the olive brine to thin out the cream cheese. I rate this recipe a four star because of the ketchup, which is, in my opinion, an unnecessary ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States