Olive Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This recipe was very good. the sauce was delicious and reminded me of the recipe for Spanish Cod on this website that is also very good. The only thing I did not like about this recipe was that the cooking time listed was too long, so just be aware of when the chicken is done to avoid overcooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Absolutely delicious!! My husband does NOT like olives but scarfed this down! I used cherry tomatoes and halved them and it worked great! The wine and olives give it an amazing taste. Highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Tasted great and even better the next day. I added the juice of one lemon and come capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
The sauce goes wonderfully over rice! I made extra sauce and mixed it in the rice because it gives it fabulous flavor. What a fabulous sauce. Chicken does cook quicker than recipe says, so just keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This recipe has been sitting around my house for awhile because I was nervous about making it. I should have just made it! It was delicious. I added more olives than the recipe called for, left out the wine and used all chicken broth and cubed my tomatoes instead of quartering them. I served them over pilaf because it's what I had and I will for sure make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raisin City, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
The first time I made this I absolutely loved it. I had leftovers two days later and it tasted even better. Next time, I cooked it up two days in advance and had all that extra marinating flavor at the first serving. The family agrees... this is a winner. (Used canned diced tomatoes and served over rice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
It smelled great, but lacked flavor. I don't know that I would make it again, but if I did I would probably consider using two cloves of chopped garlic and frying the chicken with them. Later, I would add the other ingredients minus the broth and just add a 1/2 chicken bouillon cube and a little bit of water. 45 minutes was too long, I'm sure it would have been fine after 20min. Good luck, I hope you can pull more flavor out of your dish than mine had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I Love this recipe and have made it many times. My kids (5 and 7) requested this dish while recovering from tonsillectomies. I have started making just a few slight modifications, but stay true to the heart of this recipe. I usually use boneless skinless chicken thighs. In the off season I substitute canned Italian seasoned tomatoes for the fresh tomatoes and the thyme. And I ALWAYS double the sauce (except the olives) so that I can add cooked angel hair pasta just before serving. Trick is to simmer it on low until all the flavors have blended. Definitely a restaurant quality meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Excellent, flavored-packed chicken. I used a whole chicken rather than breasts, canned tomatoes rather than fresh, and added a good shake of basil. I was out of white wine, so I used red, but white would have been better. This was great served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
AMAZING! Good with Olive Oil Couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States