Olive Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I used pre-sliced olives for convenience. I added some cornstarch as someone suggested. It did cook fairly fast no more than ten minutes needed after the browning stage. It was a very quick and easy meal to put together. I will probably make it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Great dish. The olives mellow considerably as they cook. I skipped the white wine and added additional chiken broth to replace the liquid. I also used canned diced tomatoes. I have been making a version of this for years that involves breading and frying the chicken before simmering it - I like the ease of prep on this version. My other version doesn't include tomatoes - it's good both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is fantastic! I find that the only change that I make is to omit the extra salt (seasoning the chicken, etc.) because the olives add enough salt. I just season it with Italian seasoning before browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salisbury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Anthem, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Made this for my parents' last night to rave reviews! My chicken cooked super fast so I had to take it out, boil the sauce to reduce it and thicken it up with a little cornstarch. Unfortunately, I reduced it a little too late and didn't have the amount of sauce I wanted but it was still a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Good! I added an onion and doubled the olives. I also used twice as much garlic and left the cloves in, They were deicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was tasty! I did make a few changes. I used all chicken broth (no wine) and 1 canned tomato's and fresh tomato's. Also added plenty of garlic and left it in and canned black olives. Paired it w/ lemon couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
The chicken was a bit dry and the sauce could have saved it but it was just too salty for my taste. I found the recipe itself a little confusing...says to use 4 crushed cloves of garlic and then says to remove the garlic and bay leaf at the end. I obviously couldn't remove the garlic at that point but ended up removing the olives instead because they were just too overpowering. I don't think I would make this again, thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I am embarrassed to say, I have had this sitting in my RB for over 5 years LOL and finally got around to making it. It was a desperation dinner, but it was very good. All I had was a dozen chicken legs in the freezer so I thought I would give it a try. It was GREAT. We LOVE LOVE LOVE green olives and DD had a great time cutting the olives for this. I only had one Roma tomato and a few grape tomatoes so I used one can (10 oz?) of diced tomatoes, didn't drain and also the fresh ones I had on hand. A LOT of green olives, maybe 30-40, mostly cut in half, and dried Italian seasoning (no bay leaf). Also, I only used 2 large cloves of garlic, next time will go for 4. I didn't have any white wine so I used about half of the tomato can full of chicken broth and a splash of Merlot. I covered and baked for around an hour and the chicken was falling off the bone. I served it over white rice and with English peas. It was a huge hit! Both my 5 & 2y/o ate 2 chicken legs each. Hubby took leftovers to work. This is a keeper for our family for sure!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I *LOVE* the flavor of this dish - I also was skeptical cause of the olives, but I ended up eating those as well, their flavor mellowed out with the wine and tomatoes. I loved the tomatoes - I was going to get canned but then got fresh and I'm glad I did. I used a pino grigio which worked great - I didn't want my dish sweeter so I did not use a dessert wine or anything. I used manzanella spanish olives. I don't know how everyone else got tender chicken - mine was hard and flavorless. I'mg oing to use dark meat next time cause that will definitely work, or will crock pot the chicken all day after reducing the sauce. Can't wait for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Very good flavor! Next time, I am going to thickin the sauce at the end... It was alittle too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States