Olive Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2002
Our family and dinner guests enjoyed this dish last night with steamed rice. I had to prepare the dish early, so I browned the chicken, then put everything together and let it cook in a crock pot on high for 4 hours. During the last hour, I added fresh thyme, and it was wonderful! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This recipe was delicious. A++++++!! I used thin cut chicken, and the flavor got in really well and the chicken wasn't tough at all. In fact, it was really tender. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
The chicken was really really juicy. Absolutely fabulous. My husband and I really loved the entire dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffaloe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is really lovely, very tender. I've made it many times, and it's always a hit. Great as leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONESOUP

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I give it 5 stars, cause seriously, I was really nervous making it... I didn't see how the olives would be good mixed with tomatoes and wine, but it was exquisite! Will definitely make again, and I have already forwarded the recipe to my sister! One thing I changed... only had 3 breast, which was plenty for my husband and I, but kept other measurements the same. Also used one can of diced tomatoes... drained it and added 2 fresh tomatoes quartered. Delicious.. As recommended, I served it over Saffron rice, what a great idea.. TOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
very nice Mediterranean dish. Used 2 thighs and 2 legs bone-in instead of boneless breasts. Had a sweeter wine so there was no tartness w/the tomatoes. Added 1 medium onion cut into slices and put into the sautee w/chicken for some substance. Used black olives from family orchard and added a bit more thyme and a sprinkle of basil. Served w/saffron rice as suggested, and was very nice meal. Even w/bone in meat it was very quick and easy but w/quality taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I gave the dish a 5; teenaged boys a 3/4. I found the olives a nice tart balance to the chicken and wine. I added extra garlic and simmered the dish quite a long time. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tai Po, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Extremely easy to make and tastes great! Chicken comes out really tender and juicy. I loved it and I don't even like green olives, although my 3 year old and my husband adore olives, and they couldn't get enough.... Tasted great with some vegetable risotto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I *LOVE* the flavor of this dish - I also was skeptical cause of the olives, but I ended up eating those as well, their flavor mellowed out with the wine and tomatoes. I loved the tomatoes - I was going to get canned but then got fresh and I'm glad I did. I used a pino grigio which worked great - I didn't want my dish sweeter so I did not use a dessert wine or anything. I used manzanella spanish olives. I don't know how everyone else got tender chicken - mine was hard and flavorless. I'mg oing to use dark meat next time cause that will definitely work, or will crock pot the chicken all day after reducing the sauce. Can't wait for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I am embarrassed to say, I have had this sitting in my RB for over 5 years LOL and finally got around to making it. It was a desperation dinner, but it was very good. All I had was a dozen chicken legs in the freezer so I thought I would give it a try. It was GREAT. We LOVE LOVE LOVE green olives and DD had a great time cutting the olives for this. I only had one Roma tomato and a few grape tomatoes so I used one can (10 oz?) of diced tomatoes, didn't drain and also the fresh ones I had on hand. A LOT of green olives, maybe 30-40, mostly cut in half, and dried Italian seasoning (no bay leaf). Also, I only used 2 large cloves of garlic, next time will go for 4. I didn't have any white wine so I used about half of the tomato can full of chicken broth and a splash of Merlot. I covered and baked for around an hour and the chicken was falling off the bone. I served it over white rice and with English peas. It was a huge hit! Both my 5 & 2y/o ate 2 chicken legs each. Hubby took leftovers to work. This is a keeper for our family for sure!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States