Olive Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2002
Our family and dinner guests enjoyed this dish last night with steamed rice. I had to prepare the dish early, so I browned the chicken, then put everything together and let it cook in a crock pot on high for 4 hours. During the last hour, I added fresh thyme, and it was wonderful! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This recipe wasn't a hit with my family. My son didn't care for the olive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This recipe was delicious. A++++++!! I used thin cut chicken, and the flavor got in really well and the chicken wasn't tough at all. In fact, it was really tender. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Good flavors. I used thin sliced chicken breast cutlets, pounded uniformly thin. This reduced the cooking time to almost nothing. I also added a few canned artichoke hearts cut into quarters, just because I had them on hand. I also noticed if can substitute black olives such as calamata and the flavor is still very good. A keeper. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
The chicken was really really juicy. Absolutely fabulous. My husband and I really loved the entire dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffaloe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is really lovely, very tender. I've made it many times, and it's always a hit. Great as leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONESOUP

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I give it 5 stars, cause seriously, I was really nervous making it... I didn't see how the olives would be good mixed with tomatoes and wine, but it was exquisite! Will definitely make again, and I have already forwarded the recipe to my sister! One thing I changed... only had 3 breast, which was plenty for my husband and I, but kept other measurements the same. Also used one can of diced tomatoes... drained it and added 2 fresh tomatoes quartered. Delicious.. As recommended, I served it over Saffron rice, what a great idea.. TOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
very nice Mediterranean dish. Used 2 thighs and 2 legs bone-in instead of boneless breasts. Had a sweeter wine so there was no tartness w/the tomatoes. Added 1 medium onion cut into slices and put into the sautee w/chicken for some substance. Used black olives from family orchard and added a bit more thyme and a sprinkle of basil. Served w/saffron rice as suggested, and was very nice meal. Even w/bone in meat it was very quick and easy but w/quality taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
4.5 stars! Really good. I added some onion like another reviewer suggested, and I don't like green olives so I used sun-dried tomatoes instead. Really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Very tasty. I used small vine ripe tomatoes which were sweet and delicious. I added them during the last 5 minutes so they wouldn't completely dissolve. I think I will add more olives next time because they really add a nice flavor to the dish. Watch your cooking time. This cooked a lot faster than the recommended time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States