Olive Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This did not turn out good , the chicken was tough and overdone. I followed the recipe precisley as it sounded very good , we all like green olives but were unhappy with the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I loved this recipe. Thank you to the other reviewers. I did thicken the sauce by whisking corn starch into a small amount of cold water. I also added about 2 tbls.of onion. I only had cheap chardonnay, but the taste was still good. I served it with rice made with chicken broth. My husband who isn't crazy about olives, said that it was real good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was amazingly deliscious. I made it exactly as directed but used bone-in chicken and cooked it for 1 hour. It came out perfect. The dish made the house smell so good. I used the sauce on top of white rice and it was so yummy. The enitre family loved it! Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
The flavors are great but the sauce is very runny. I had to remove the chicken after 45 mins. and boil the sauce to reduce it. Next time...and there will be a next, I will cut the stock in half. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
DH and I loved this super-easy dish! We love olives, so I doubled the amount, and used chicken broth only since I had no white wine open. I definitely recommend browning the chicken without salt, as the olives make it salty enough. (I thought it was a touch too salty, but DH disagreed!) Can't wait to try this one with the wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
We thought the chicken was bland with an odd sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I really really enjoyed this recipe. I'm in love with olives and garlic and the combination of both was delicious. Changes I made: I used Greek Seasoning instead of salt to season the chicken breasts before browning. I didn't have any white wine so I used all chicken broth. I also added lots of extra chopped garlic in bigger chunks. I also wanted a thicker sauce so I added some cornstarch at the advice of others. My boyfriend hates olives so I just pulled the chicken breasts out of the broth before adding the cornstarch and he loved the chicken. Will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
a keeper!!I changed a few things.lightly floured chicken breasts.Browned in olive oil and butter.No salt.Used canned diced tomatoes undrained.Also added a can of ripe pitted olives,as we like them.they made a nice complement with the green olives.Dry vermouth as the wine.Wanted to try out a new cast iron pot,so used that and let all simmer for about 1 1/2 hours.Really delicious.Will serve to company this week.Served with brown wild rice,salad thats all you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This made a very nice change for our Sunday dinner! I used boneless/skinless thighs, 1 can diced tomatoes, extra garlic, sliced black olives and green olives along with the rest of the ingredients and cooked it it the crock-pot all day on low. Served this with rice and green beans. The crock-pot made this a bit soupy so thats what I did with the leftovers, made soup!! Very good lunch at work all week! Next time will cook this on top of the stove and will hope for a more reduced sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Very good dish. The only downfall was that it was very watery. My husband and I both loved it. Maybe I will half the stock next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyButler1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States