Olive Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This did not turn out good , the chicken was tough and overdone. I followed the recipe precisley as it sounded very good , we all like green olives but were unhappy with the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I loved this recipe. Thank you to the other reviewers. I did thicken the sauce by whisking corn starch into a small amount of cold water. I also added about 2 tbls.of onion. I only had cheap chardonnay, but the taste was still good. I served it with rice made with chicken broth. My husband who isn't crazy about olives, said that it was real good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was amazingly deliscious. I made it exactly as directed but used bone-in chicken and cooked it for 1 hour. It came out perfect. The dish made the house smell so good. I used the sauce on top of white rice and it was so yummy. The enitre family loved it! Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
The flavors are great but the sauce is very runny. I had to remove the chicken after 45 mins. and boil the sauce to reduce it. Next time...and there will be a next, I will cut the stock in half. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
DH and I loved this super-easy dish! We love olives, so I doubled the amount, and used chicken broth only since I had no white wine open. I definitely recommend browning the chicken without salt, as the olives make it salty enough. (I thought it was a touch too salty, but DH disagreed!) Can't wait to try this one with the wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
We thought the chicken was bland with an odd sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I really really enjoyed this recipe. I'm in love with olives and garlic and the combination of both was delicious. Changes I made: I used Greek Seasoning instead of salt to season the chicken breasts before browning. I didn't have any white wine so I used all chicken broth. I also added lots of extra chopped garlic in bigger chunks. I also wanted a thicker sauce so I added some cornstarch at the advice of others. My boyfriend hates olives so I just pulled the chicken breasts out of the broth before adding the cornstarch and he loved the chicken. Will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
a keeper!!I changed a few things.lightly floured chicken breasts.Browned in olive oil and butter.No salt.Used canned diced tomatoes undrained.Also added a can of ripe pitted olives,as we like them.they made a nice complement with the green olives.Dry vermouth as the wine.Wanted to try out a new cast iron pot,so used that and let all simmer for about 1 1/2 hours.Really delicious.Will serve to company this week.Served with brown wild rice,salad thats all you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This made a very nice change for our Sunday dinner! I used boneless/skinless thighs, 1 can diced tomatoes, extra garlic, sliced black olives and green olives along with the rest of the ingredients and cooked it it the crock-pot all day on low. Served this with rice and green beans. The crock-pot made this a bit soupy so thats what I did with the leftovers, made soup!! Very good lunch at work all week! Next time will cook this on top of the stove and will hope for a more reduced sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Very good dish. The only downfall was that it was very watery. My husband and I both loved it. Maybe I will half the stock next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyButler1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States