Olive Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Eh, it's alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Maybe the green olives I used were just too salty. This recipe was just ok. Not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is now one of my favorite combinations. I think next time I will perpare and simmer the sauce and poach halibut in it during the last 10 min of cooking. This is really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kismet59

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This dish was so easy to make and turned out great. I used canned diced tomatoes with all of their juices and let it cook until the liquid reduced by half. The chicken came out so tender you didn't even need a knife. I served this with a box of rice pilaf. Even my 6 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I decided not to use boneless skinless chicken breasts, so I just used some chicken legs that I had around. They needed the full 45 minutes. This recipe was tasty, but a bit briny for me. Perhaps that's because I don't love green olives that much. My husband, who loves green olives, really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
The chicken was great, but I made a couple changes. When it had simmered for a while, I added some roux and a small can of tomato sauce to make a thickened sauce. Next time, I'll use black olives as the green were a bit too much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
My family loves this chicken. I use 2 cans of Italian-seasoned diced tomatoes instead of the fresh tomatoes to make it a little saucier and serve it over rice. It even works great in the crock-pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This recipe was wonderful! I don't like tomato so I left those out but made everything else exactly as written except scaled down for one. My 2 yr old daughter and I ate every bit! The second time i made it, I cubed it into small chunks before cooking and added black olives. When it was done I spooned it into a half a whole wheat pita with hummus...oh man! Spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Neal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I was eager to try this recipe, but was a little disappointed with the results. The chicken became overcooked with the amount of cooking time specified. I also disliked the thyme seasoning, which seemed to conflict with the taste of the olives. In addition, it wasn't quite sweet enough so I found myself adding a teaspoon of brown sugar to the sauce. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I'd give this one 5 stars, but it ended up with way too much liquid. However, it was delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States