Olive Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I liked it, but my family didn't...sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I made this as written except with all chicken broth in place of wine. The 45 minutes cooking time seemed far too long which made my chicken breast a bit tough and dry but the flavor was excellent. I think I will use a bit less liquid and shorten the cooking time to 20-25 minutes, maybe less, just until the meat is cooked through. One MUST love the green olive flavor to appreciate this recipe as it really stands out even over the fresh garlic. I found it to be wonderful, but hubby said "so-so".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was delicious! Will definately be making again! After reading the reviews, I added flour to the chicken before browning, then removed from the pan. I also added black and kalamata olives along withe green (stuffed w/jalepenos) and simmered on low for 25-30 minutes. I then sliced up the breasts before returning to pan and simmered, covered for the final 15 minutes. The sauce was perfect - not watery at all becuase of the floured breasts! Served over Tomato, Florentine Rice - definately a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I used cheddar stuffed green olives as that is what I had on hand. I thought this was a little bland so at the very end I added some cream cheese and it was just AWESOME. I also chopped the garlic and kept it all in the dish instead of removing at the end as in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Paltz, New York, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was great I did not have wine so I added a can of broth and can of diced garlic tomatos istead of fresh. The sauce was watery so I just threw the minute rice in with them. The leftovers were fought over the next day it was that good. Thanks for the recipe, try this if you like olives this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was simply wonderful and light with perfect flavor. My husband loves green olives. I followed the recipe and would not change too much. I simmered the chicken in the broth/wine for about 30 minutes after browning and..then pulled it off the heat and covered for about 20 minutes while the rice cooked. It will be a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
6-10-11: This produced a lot of juice, was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This is an awesome recipe. I drain and rinse my olives (I made mine with calamata olives.). I used bone in chicken breasts. Because of the bone in, I covered the mixture for the final cooking stretch due to concern that the bone in chicken breasts would dry out, as I cooked it. I also thickened the sauce right before serving with a little bit of cornstarch. This is definitely a keeper! My family absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This was so very good. We love olives & tomatoes, so I followed the recipe to the "T" and it was yummy. I used a can of tiny cherry tomatoes w/ some of the juice & it was almost perfect! Also added onions, as we love them. This one's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ree Larkin Kamenitz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I love olives and was looking for a way to cook with them. This recipe is very good...I would give it 4 stars but feel the olives almost need to be pureed or chopped with a parmesan mix and placed inside the chicken breasts... would enhance the olive flavor within the chicken better. Otherwise... very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States