Olive Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This was a very easy and delicious recipe. Will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I halved this recipe still using the same amount of olives as I love olives. I did not peel the tomatoes and that was not a problem, I did however core them. The chicken was tender and it did not take 45 minutes to cook. I do think there was still too much liquid. But overall it was still a decent recipe and I got my olive fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
The flavor of this dish is very good and we both enjoyed it! I used cherry tomatoes, halved, and doubled the olives, as mine were very small. I went about this a little differently. I browned the chicken and removed it from the pan. I simmered the sauce ingredients for a few minutes before adding back the chicken. I covered my pan and simmered for only about 5 minutes at which point my chicken was perfectly tender and cooked through. Simmering for 45 minutes is not necessary and would probably toughen up the chicken. At the end I did thicken the sauce with a little cornstarch mixed with water, just enough to give it some body. I served this over saffron rice, which was a wonderful idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
My family loved this one! I'm an olive fan and loved the tangyness of the sauce. I followed the recipe exactly and served it with brown rice with some sauteed veggies and a little of the chicken sauce stirred in. This will definitely become a regular meal in our house and was a welcome change from the same ole stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
If cooked as written, it would not have much flavor. I started out making it as is, but quickly realized the other reviewers who made suggestions about adding cream, reducing broth, and adding fresh basil and oregano were spot on. It was better this way, but still I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Very yummy. For my husband and I, I cut the recipe in half and then only used 2 chicken breasts (this gave us extra sauce to pour over rice.) I used extras olives and thickened the sauce a little with corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Great ricipe, very easy. Used can of diced tomatoes. This will be one of my new staples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was really good. It is a keeper in my house. I did not peel my tomatoes but did squeeze most of the seeds out. I also thickened my juice with water/cornstarch mix. This was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
kinda bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was alright, but even adding in some basil and doubling the garlic and olives, it was still pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States