Olive Cheese Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I made these for a Happy Hour in my community. They were devoured, while other things remained. What I would change:use 7 English muffins instead of 8 because I didn't have enough to cover all 8, I used granulated garlic salt and omitted regular salt (as per other comments)and curry powder (because I don't like it and didn't think it really went with the other ingredients). I will probably cut these in half instead of quarters. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Used it for years ...never had anyone not love it..must have curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Very good. Better with a stronger bread like rye versus sourdough. I tried it with both and disliked the sourdough bread taste although it's my favorite and the rye was better. I won't make this again...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was a big hit with the family. The first time I made exactly as the recipe, and though everyone loved it, my husband felt like there was something missing. Next time, I added a little bit of chili powder and used mexican cheese blend instead of plain cheddar cheese. The results were outstanding, though it could be just a family preference. I see serving this on many other types of breads, I will try that out and write a review. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Oh my, these flavors did not work for me at all. The green onions seemed undercooked in the mixture. There was too many black olives and the mayonnaise curry flavor was just way too strong. I made 1/4 of a recipe to try it for lunch. I tried a curry chicken salad and did not care for it either, so this combination may just really not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Good! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I made this last night for casual company. There were 4 of us and everyone liked it. I only had 3 English muffins left from a package but when split, it gave 6 muffin halves to work with and that was plenty for the 4 of us. For extra crispy muffin bottoms (which I feel adds needed texture), first toast them in the toaster before spreading the cheese mixture on top and baking. Otherwise there's too much mush or softness. I also added a few strips of bacon, cooked and crumbled to the cheese mixture. I personally never care for curry powder so I omitted it. These changes made them an enjoyable item to serve along with wine, nuts, and shrimp as appetizers. I found that a pizza wheel was helpful in cutting them. I cut them in half, not fourths, as I felt they were a decent size for handling--and the 2 men did not think they were eating "dainty" food!!! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Easy & tasty. Could also be eaten as a sandwich or with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti'sPantry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA
Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I liked the basic idea but it didn't work out all that well. I didn't like the curry flavor with the olives and there was too much mayo. I probably will try it again....with half the mayo and no curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
yummmy! Everyone loved them!! Making double next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States