Olive Cheese Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
My cheese balls turned-out perfectly, but I made these changes: Substituted olives for small cocktail sausages, cut into thirds. Used cayenne pepper, instead of paprika, adjusting the heat to your preference. Used parchment paper, and do not overcook-adjust time according to your oven-mine was 20 minutes cooking time. I put toothpicks in each one and they were very impressive on a platter and delicious. I made some them ahead of time and froze them in a zip-lock bag, after refrigerating them for several hours to prevent them from sticking together in the bag. I allowed the frozen ones to sit out before baking about 30 minutes before baking, otherwise they can be dry. This is my favorite snack for my family, and they like a large pecan inside the ball, instead of an olive or sausage to change it up. I put a few drops of food color in the dough to mix them up: Red food color for hot with cayenne and sausages....Green for olives...Yellow for pecans....Looks pretty for buffet table. I used Kraft Shreddered sharp cheddar cheese only for the best flavor. JUst experiment, but too much flour will make them dry. The pan does not need to be greased, and using parchment paper makes an easy clean-up possible. The heat from sausages, tabasco, or cayenne pepper picks it up, and you can always omit the heat for those who can't eat it. The food coloring of the dough allows everyone to choose their preference.Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is a good recipe, but to make it great...use cayenne pepper instead of paprika and green olives instead of black. It's very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This sounds very similar to a recipe my mother made every Christmas. She made the cheese "dough" with the Kraft Old English cheese spread in the little glass jar instead of cheddar, and added a pinch of cayenne pepper. She used the whole, green spanish olives instead of black olives. These have a little bit of a kick to them and they always go FAST, so double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Highland Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I'm not sure if I did something wrong but I made these and no one liked them except the dog. They were dry and all you really tasted was the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Yum. This is so straight forward to make and always popular. I did substitute green olives for black, and cayenne pepper instead of paprika as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was terrible.. I couldnt even finish the bite. My kids gaged. Made these for a party and it let me down, tasted so aweful that I wouldn't take them.. SKIP THIS RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I was a bit disappointed because in the oven these do not retain their shape. In fact,they end up flat with a round bump in the middle and I don't have to tell you which part of the female anatomy they resemble. Very greasy and floury, too. My dog loved the scraps I didn't eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
My family loves these! We are huge olive fans and I was looking for a way to change them up a bit. My only tip is to use real butter and not the newer soft baking butter, they lose their form a bit with the baking butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
These are a little work, but the results are great! My neighbor immediately asked for the recipe and my (picky) mother-in-law liked them, too. I made them early in the day and kept them in the fridge. In the evening, I just popped them in the oven and voilá! They were done in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I found this a very easy recipe to do. My ten yr old daughter helped, too. We used it for our Holiday party at work. They came out great! Thanks! Note: I did not use the paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States