Olive Cheese Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This was great WITH additions, some which have been mentioned. I used Mexican 4-Cheese, a few hardy shakes of garlic & onion powder + some red pepper & then only 1/2 t. paprika. After mixing the dough, just taste it & adjust seasonings. I made some w/ stuffed green olives, well dried off & some I stuffed w/ pecan halves. I rolled the pecans into logs instead of balls. BTW, I've had a similar recipe for yrs. that calls for 1/2 c. chopped pecans in the dough & no stuffing. The dough is formed into 2 logs (1 1/2 in. diameter) & chilled until firm & then sliced to cook, 400 degrees for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was not what I remembered from my childhood at all. I even used sharp cheddar cheese. One thing, though. I used small olives and it probably would have been better with at least a medium sized olive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Yum, these are so good. I lost this recipe from at least 40 years ago and am so glad to have found it again on allrecipes. They do just melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliesmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Very easy to prepare, but extremely bland with black olives. Suggest using any type of stuffed green olive. Garlic and almond stuffed were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
VERY tasty, and the dough is PERFECT. I hate a lot of bread and was hesitant on the breading, but it was cheesy and delicious! The only complaint is that after cooking they were VERY oily, so a little too fatty for me, even after using reduced fat butter. Otherwise, tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Too bland. I used kalamata olives to jazz it up a bit bit they still turned out really bland. And they were rather greasy. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I substitute green olives for black, and cayenne pepper instead of paprika. Used Bisquick instead of flour too. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was terrible.. I couldnt even finish the bite. My kids gaged. Made these for a party and it let me down, tasted so aweful that I wouldn't take them.. SKIP THIS RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
My cheese balls turned-out perfectly, but I made these changes: Substituted olives for small cocktail sausages, cut into thirds. Used cayenne pepper, instead of paprika, adjusting the heat to your preference. Used parchment paper, and do not overcook-adjust time according to your oven-mine was 20 minutes cooking time. I put toothpicks in each one and they were very impressive on a platter and delicious. I made some them ahead of time and froze them in a zip-lock bag, after refrigerating them for several hours to prevent them from sticking together in the bag. I allowed the frozen ones to sit out before baking about 30 minutes before baking, otherwise they can be dry. This is my favorite snack for my family, and they like a large pecan inside the ball, instead of an olive or sausage to change it up. I put a few drops of food color in the dough to mix them up: Red food color for hot with cayenne and sausages....Green for olives...Yellow for pecans....Looks pretty for buffet table. I used Kraft Shreddered sharp cheddar cheese only for the best flavor. JUst experiment, but too much flour will make them dry. The pan does not need to be greased, and using parchment paper makes an easy clean-up possible. The heat from sausages, tabasco, or cayenne pepper picks it up, and you can always omit the heat for those who can't eat it. The food coloring of the dough allows everyone to choose their preference.Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I made a batch with black olives and a batch with green olives and served them at a party. Everybody loved them! Use BUTTER, not margarine. Takes a little time to wrap the olives, but they're very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States