Oliebollen (Dutch Doughnuts) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
i had never heard of oliebollen until a couple of weeks ago when my husband was talking about his childhood traditions. I tried them on New Year's eve and they turned out fantastic. My husband said they tasted exactly like he remembered! thanks for the great recipe flourGirl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I am dutch and must say that these are spot on perfect. My family has made these every new years eve since I can remember. I made these tonight and everyone agreed that these are the real thing. I heavily sprinkle on powdered sugar when they are cool and the crunch and taste is just addicting. I will be making quite a few tommorow for New years eve. Thank you soo much for the recipe. Happy New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Our Oma, my stepmom, always made Oliebollen around New Years. Unfortunately, she died last year and when I went to find the recipe, realized it was in her Dutch cookbook (I can't read Dutch). I tried this recipe and it is very similar to what she made. I made one batch with milk and apple for the grandkids, the adult batch with warm beer, apple, raisin, and dried cranberries. Oma always added finely diced citron, but not everyone cares for citron. Made a double batch and they were gone in a flash. Also reduced the salt and used active dry yeast, even with the beer batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WENSMITH
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Active dry yeast was all I had on hand, so I guesstimated 1 1/2 tsp. based on the amount of flour. It took twice as long to double in size, but the results were still good. I gave this recipe four stars because I think it's a bit too salty like some other reviewers. I also substituted golden raisins for the currants. They need more sweetness on the inside, so I will only put 1 tsp salt and add sugar to the batter next time. The procedure is perfect, I used a #20 scoop and 8 minutes cooking time was just right. Bedankt voor de recept, it really "rounded out" our New Year's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Turned out REALLY good. I skipped the salt as well per previous reviews and am glad I did. I would encourage testing one every so often to double check the oil temperature and that they are cooked through. As a native Dutch woman, I do recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I just finished making my first batch and it was just yum yum. I added two tablespoons of white sugar to the milk and yeast. We love apples in ours and we used a tart apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janathome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Oliebollen has always been a huge tradition in my family for New Years Day. It was my favourite thing of the New Year. I decided to make this for my first New Year in China, and it was terrible! The dough didn't rise, and it was so salty, the apples even took on the taste of the salt. I thought maybe I had made a mistake somewhere and forgot to add the sugar, but there's no sugar in this recipe. I'm glad to hear some people enjoyed this recipe...but I think next time, I'll stick with my mom's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
As a daughter of a full Dutch father, this is what we would look forward to EVERY New Years day. It was a tradition. These are very good but I made them the way my dad did. I did a double batch and used 1 cup of beer (rrom temo) and 1 cup warm water. Did not use milk. Also only used 1 cube of yeast because of the beer. He also made it and let it rise all night and made them in the morning. I have done this tradition with my kids since my dad has passed and hopefully they will carry it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is the second year I've made this recipe for my Dutch husband on New Years. He swears it's just as good as his Dad made while he was growing up in Holland. A few tips - one package of active dry yeast works the same as the fresh yeast, and I also reduce the salt to 1 tsp. I like to do have the batch with cinnamon mixed in with the powdered sugar. Make sure to finely chop the apples - they should only add flavor, not a lot of texture. Lastly, the balls need to be at least golf ball size - so use an ice-cream scoop to drop them (gently) in the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pyrex Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
My grandmother used to make these for my sister and i when we slept over, her grams made them on easter in her youth. these are more authentic according to my gram then how she taught me (using pancake mix,as kids we knew these as pancake balls) but I still added her "secret ingredient" a dash of orange juice. if you can find one there is a type of cast iron pan with ball shapes cut out that we fry these in, it cuts the need for a vat of oil. though I inherited the pan from my grams and haven't been able to find a duplicate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States