Oliebollen (Dutch Doughnuts) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
They turned out great! Used 1 tsp of salt. Also 1/2 cup of yellow and dark rasins. Apples were a little larger than the typical field run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Roosenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
We found these oliebollen had too much salt and they were a tad dry. made them with 1 tsp. salt and 2 cups of flour instead. perfect for our tastebuds. However someone ate them all so they could not have been bad at all. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intermet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My 87 year old mother and I make these every new years eve. We use peanut oil for frying (my idea). We use 5# of unbleached flour and leave out the eggs because her father use to tell her that it makes them like bread and they dry out. We freeze some as soon as they are cool and she enjoys them year around. The last one was consumed a week before Christsmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
i had never heard of oliebollen until a couple of weeks ago when my husband was talking about his childhood traditions. I tried them on New Year's eve and they turned out fantastic. My husband said they tasted exactly like he remembered! thanks for the great recipe flourGirl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I am dutch and must say that these are spot on perfect. My family has made these every new years eve since I can remember. I made these tonight and everyone agreed that these are the real thing. I heavily sprinkle on powdered sugar when they are cool and the crunch and taste is just addicting. I will be making quite a few tommorow for New years eve. Thank you soo much for the recipe. Happy New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Our Oma, my stepmom, always made Oliebollen around New Years. Unfortunately, she died last year and when I went to find the recipe, realized it was in her Dutch cookbook (I can't read Dutch). I tried this recipe and it is very similar to what she made. I made one batch with milk and apple for the grandkids, the adult batch with warm beer, apple, raisin, and dried cranberries. Oma always added finely diced citron, but not everyone cares for citron. Made a double batch and they were gone in a flash. Also reduced the salt and used active dry yeast, even with the beer batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WENSMITH
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Active dry yeast was all I had on hand, so I guesstimated 1 1/2 tsp. based on the amount of flour. It took twice as long to double in size, but the results were still good. I gave this recipe four stars because I think it's a bit too salty like some other reviewers. I also substituted golden raisins for the currants. They need more sweetness on the inside, so I will only put 1 tsp salt and add sugar to the batter next time. The procedure is perfect, I used a #20 scoop and 8 minutes cooking time was just right. Bedankt voor de recept, it really "rounded out" our New Year's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Turned out REALLY good. I skipped the salt as well per previous reviews and am glad I did. I would encourage testing one every so often to double check the oil temperature and that they are cooked through. As a native Dutch woman, I do recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I just finished making my first batch and it was just yum yum. I added two tablespoons of white sugar to the milk and yeast. We love apples in ours and we used a tart apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janathome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Oliebollen has always been a huge tradition in my family for New Years Day. It was my favourite thing of the New Year. I decided to make this for my first New Year in China, and it was terrible! The dough didn't rise, and it was so salty, the apples even took on the taste of the salt. I thought maybe I had made a mistake somewhere and forgot to add the sugar, but there's no sugar in this recipe. I'm glad to hear some people enjoyed this recipe...but I think next time, I'll stick with my mom's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States