Olie Bollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
My family says they are exactly like my grandma's so this recipe is a win for me. I only used 1 pkg of yeast, shortening for frying and only raisins everything else was exactly as written. oh & I sprinkled them with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Loved these while they were still warm, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Pretty good. but messy and labor intensive If I make them again, I will try additional 1/2 C sugar and additional 1/2 C of flour. I suggest that if trying for the first time, cut recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Ulla, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Substituted GF flour mix. When cut in half it took 2 3/8 cup. Mixed in 1/4 c at a time till it had a stiff paste consistency, like soft peanut butter. Also tossed the apple pieces in 1 tbsp cornstarch prior to folding into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
These are great! I made some too big so they were kind of raw in the middle. I had to take the raw ones and throw them in the oven. It was still really great! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
My partner is Dutch. We've been having Olliebolen since we had our first new year together. Depending on the number of guests we are entertaining, usually i divide the dough into two batches before adding the dried fruits and wait for a bit til it rises again and add one batch with the dried and candied fruits and the other one with apple rings to make appelflappen. Sieve a lot of confectioner sugar + cinnamon on them before serving. Better serve warm. Love it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Bouma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Very similar to my father's recipe, except he added 1 tsp. vanilla and lots of cinnamon and substituted currants for the raisins. Confectioners sugar for dipping them into is a must. I have kept up this tradition in my home and it wouldn't be the same on New Year's Eve without making these for my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
very good! dipped them icing sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I am Dutch and we make it for old years day and we make a lot like 50-100 pieces for the familiy. On new years day we eat the "left overs"as breakfast or even as lunch. Besides oliebollen we make appelflappen, sliced apples with cinnamon and sugar in a dough Oil balls is the name becuase they look like balls baked in oil. On the oliiebollen you pour sugarpouwder (a lot) not normal sugar. You can also make them with out raisin or apple offically oliebollen are without raisin and rozijnenbollen/raisenballs are with. But most people make them with Real Dutch is to pour beer and milk in the dough and not eggs and water. For 41/2 cups flour I use about 1 bottle of beer (330 ml) and 3 or 4 cups of handwarm milk, 2 apples shopped, 2 cups of raisins, 2-3 spoons of sugar. 2 packages of yeast, teaspoon salt. Put it all together until the dough is in a thick ribbon running of your spoon and the it double it size when it rest We bake them in a pan filled with oil 2-3 ltr. I use a pan that can keep the temprature on 180 degrees C and bake for a few hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These turned out great!! We let the dough rise 1 1/2 hours by mistake and they were wonderful. My husband is Dutch and this is our New Year's Eve tradition. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States