Olga's Potica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
This is only one of the many varieties of this slovenian pastry dishes. As one of the reviewers said - do it once a year. It is traditionaally made for Christmass or Easter and is really hard to make it "just right". My mother has been making it for 10 years now and she still hasn't mastered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
One of the best desserts ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Very delicious potica. I ommit the raisins. This recipe is better than the bread we get from our Slovenian baker!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I decided I had enough practice in bread baking to take on one of the really difficult ones. I was right in thinking this bread would be a challenge. It's not a problem that potica takes some time to make--lots of breads take time, and this one does too. The challenge of this bread is rolling the dough out thin, yet not so thin that the filling seeps out. I did two loaves: one about 18 inches long and one about 14 inches long. The filling seeped out of the longer one (too thin layers) and the top layer of the fatter loaf split (otherwise it was fine). So, I'm going to keep practicing, because even though my loaves aren't as pretty as Olga's or Christine's, they tasted really good. Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I've made potica, or povitica as my Croatian Grandma would say, for several years but was never satisfied with the dough recipe until I tried this one. It is very easy to work with, light and delicious. I increase the amount of raisins and walnuts and grind them into a spreadable paste using a food processor. Also, I add between 1/4 - 1/2 cup sweet red wine to the filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was time-consuming but definitely worth the trouble! I had a lot of fun making this with my sister, and although it's not Christmas yet, we sampled it the following morning for breakfast; divine!! We quickly froze the rest of the loaves(we doubled the recipe) so we wouldn't eat it all before the holiday! The dough was easy to work with and rolled out just great; nice thin layers. Thank you for a terrific recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
the filling i usually make and has been made like this for generations is ground walnuts, sugar and raisins soaked in rum. i omit the honey because i think it overwhelms the aroma of walnuts..but that's just me. an interesting twist is making potica with tarragon and cottage/cream cheese, it's really yummy and fragrant :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ljubljana, Gorenjska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2000
Just like grandma used to make! This recipe is delicious but a lot of work, to roll that dough out so thin you can read the newspaper through it. But if you are Slovenian you owe it to your heritage to make this at least once a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
We have our own family recipe. Potica has been passed down in my family for four generations. We do NOT use raisins, and always use walnuts NOT pecans. Either use a cheesecloth or flat sheet on your table for rolling out. Sometimes you have to pull the dough to strech it out. Then you can lift the sheet on the side to have the dough w/filling roll nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
The recipe that has been passed down in our family is different in a couple ways, one being we only use walnuts. Another way is that my Grandma would mix powdered sugar with the ground walnuts. My mother changed that part and mixes maple syrup in with the ground walnuts. I sometimes do both or just use maple syrup and we do not roll the dough out so thin and don't have as many rolls. The upside to that is that I have never had any problems with the rolling of the dough and so forth. We only make it for Christmas and Pascha (Easter). It is nice to see so many other people with the same tradition of Potica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States