Olga's Potica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2000
Just like grandma used to make! This recipe is delicious but a lot of work, to roll that dough out so thin you can read the newspaper through it. But if you are Slovenian you owe it to your heritage to make this at least once a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
This is only one of the many varieties of this slovenian pastry dishes. As one of the reviewers said - do it once a year. It is traditionaally made for Christmass or Easter and is really hard to make it "just right". My mother has been making it for 10 years now and she still hasn't mastered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
One of the best desserts ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Very delicious potica. I ommit the raisins. This recipe is better than the bread we get from our Slovenian baker!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I decided I had enough practice in bread baking to take on one of the really difficult ones. I was right in thinking this bread would be a challenge. It's not a problem that potica takes some time to make--lots of breads take time, and this one does too. The challenge of this bread is rolling the dough out thin, yet not so thin that the filling seeps out. I did two loaves: one about 18 inches long and one about 14 inches long. The filling seeped out of the longer one (too thin layers) and the top layer of the fatter loaf split (otherwise it was fine). So, I'm going to keep practicing, because even though my loaves aren't as pretty as Olga's or Christine's, they tasted really good. Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I've made potica, or povitica as my Croatian Grandma would say, for several years but was never satisfied with the dough recipe until I tried this one. It is very easy to work with, light and delicious. I increase the amount of raisins and walnuts and grind them into a spreadable paste using a food processor. Also, I add between 1/4 - 1/2 cup sweet red wine to the filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I've made and eaten potica all my life. This filling appears harder than it should. I've never used raisins nor would I. Ground walnuts are best and most nut stores sell them already ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I have a similar recipe given to me by my MIL that has been passed down through her Slovanian family for years. We make a HUGE batch (5 loaves) and the easiest way to cut the loaves is to use unflavored dental floss. It also helps if you use a large cheese cloth to aid in rolling the dough..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Just one comment: Preheat the oven 15 minutes before the end of the second rising otherwise you'll be heating your kitchen for 3 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
We have our own family recipe. Potica has been passed down in my family for four generations. We do NOT use raisins, and always use walnuts NOT pecans. Either use a cheesecloth or flat sheet on your table for rolling out. Sometimes you have to pull the dough to strech it out. Then you can lift the sheet on the side to have the dough w/filling roll nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States