Olde Tavern Spoon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
My husband doesn't much care for corn, but loves this recipe! Whole family remembered it from a couple of years ago and asked me to bring it for Thanksgiving 2014. PLUS, as a celiac, its an excellent gluten-free recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is extra special when you use Jiffy Cornmeal Mix instead of the cornmeal.salt and baking powder. Yummy ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clemmons, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Made this spoon bread with taco soup and doubled the recipe, my family loved it!! Taste just like my mother use to make. I didn't wait for milk and cornmeal to cool, but tempered eggs into mixture and preheated pan in oven with tbsp of butter as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgsiska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Although this was quite tasty, it wasn't as creamy as I'm use to having spoon bread. I'll look for my old recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Made this tonight. I didn't have time to let it cool so I whipped the cornmeal mixture in my stand mixer to cool it enough to add the eggs. (I saw another recipe that called for a stand mixer) It turned out light and fluffy with a custardy middle. Wonderful. We enjoyed it with butter and then with some honey for dessert. (Might add a tiny bit more salt next time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Didn't change a thing and it's perfect. Just like I remember it from my childhood...with a large pat of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Being from Virginia I was raised eating spoonbread. Very good but I never allow batter to cool before mixing in eggs, just temper. I added a little sugar **Tip- heat casserole dish in the oven, once hot place 1 tbsp of butter in dish to melt. Pour batter and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I think this is the same recipe my mom used in th '50's. I LOVE this. May be plain by itself, but wonderful with lots of butter. Comfort food at it's finest!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I always add about a quarter of a cup chopped cooked bacon and shredded cheese. My mother-in-law used to make it this way and I absolutley love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This is actually a great base for spoon bread. When I worked in kitchens, we'd add whatever we had lying around that couldn't be used to something else. I took this recipe and added about a cup of sauteed peppers & onions, a cup of frozen corn, 2 cups of cheese, green onions, parsley, and diced sausage of some sort. It turned out great and it useful for cleaning out the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States