Old World Poppy Seed Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The ratio on pastry to poppyseed was off for my family. Too many poppyseeds. I will make a single loaf with the bread next time and cut the poppyseed mix in half. Maybe add a little more sugar to the bread dough to make up for the reduced sugar/poppyseed mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Had this as a child, made by my Hungarian Grandmother. Was so excited to find this recipe and try it. It turned out perfect and the taste brought back great memories. Found it easy to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Fruitvale, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
very good! but just a little too sweet for me. i will try 1/2 cup sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Made this for my father who may not be here next Easter. We always had poppy seed bread on Easter Sunday growing up in NJ. Moving to Fl, changed that. This Recipe was great and the closest I have seen to what I remember as the kid. It hit a home run for me with dad he really loved it. I found the recipe very easy especially for someone who relies on her bread maker and has not kneaded dough since 8th grade home economics..... thanks so much for sharing it will be a staple in my holiday bake book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This roll tasted delicious I made the recipe exactly how it is stated except cut everything in half because I only wanted one roll.... It also looked rather impressive and wasn't all that hard to make... all the steps in the instructions may look intimidating but it is actually rather easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Same recipe as I have lost long ago - on an old label from poppy seed filling from a Polish Store, that always turned out well for me. The only difference that I have noticed was the butter melted and cooled to be added to yeast instead of working it in with a pastry knife, as in this recipe. Many thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was just incredible!!!!!!!!!!!!! When I saw it was a yeast dough, I had second thoughts but it was so easy to put together and the dough came out perfect and trust me I am not any kind of dough expert. I used canned poppy seed filling and used a butter knife to spread it all over the inside to just about 1" from the edge and it came out so good baked just as the recipe said. This is definitely a KEEPER. THANK YOU for sharing it with the world!!!!! Right up there for holiday traditional sweetbread for us!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I thought this recipe was fantastic, especially the bread. It was extremely easy to make (I haven't baked like this since high school 15 years ago). Poppyseed in my opinion is rather expensive, and though my husband raved about the poppyseed filling, I found it bitter compared to a canned variety I used for comparison. However, the bread is quite versatile and tasted wonderful with a raspberry filling! Did I mention how easy the dough is to work with? Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie S. Klempay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I used to buy poppy seed rolls at a local farmer's market...and marvelled at their deliciousness and seeming difficulty to make. I am so glad I found this recipe! A Polish friend requested a poppy roll for Christmas and so I experimented. Found this recipe and (thanks to all the previous reviewers!) tried this one as it had the best ratings and looked easy and sensible as well. Since we have an eggless kitchen I omitted the egg (added a half tb of cornstarch into the dough and rubbed the loaf with butter and cornstarch prior to baking), also used 9oz of poppy seeds, 2 tb extra of sugar in both the filling and the dough. It came out amazing! A Russian and a Pole at dinner both told me it was the best poppy seed roll they ever had. I loved it too and made more for presents...definitely a keeper! I'm now experimenting with whole wheat and sourdough versions. Awesome recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States