Old World Poppy Seed Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Miriam Calleja
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This was something extremely different for me, both in method and in taste. I loved it and will definitely be making it again. Will also blog about it and send you a ping back from muchadoaboutnoting.com. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Calleja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I used poppy seeds from GFS, and the filling was delicious. I thought it odd that the recipe did not call for the dough to have a "first rise" before forming the loaves. I don't know if the humid day was a factor, but the dough was so springy that I had a hard time rolling it out to the 12x16 rectangle, and while I stopped to re-read the directions, the dough rested a moment and was easier to roll. I baked it as directed, and unfortunately, I have more of a poppy seed cracker roll with a delicious filling. It is not bread-like at all. If I were to make it again, I would let the dough rise for an hour before rolling out to form the rolls, then let it rise again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
The dough came out perfect the first try. Be sure the seam is down and centered while raising and baking or you may have some filling leak out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Deliciuos and easy! Reminded me of my mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
My mother makes this every year and it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Excellent! My mother and Slovak grandmother made this every year at Christmastime. They made poppy seed, apricot, and nut rolls using this same basic recipe, just substituting the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The ratio on pastry to poppyseed was off for my family. Too many poppyseeds. I will make a single loaf with the bread next time and cut the poppyseed mix in half. Maybe add a little more sugar to the bread dough to make up for the reduced sugar/poppyseed mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Had this as a child, made by my Hungarian Grandmother. Was so excited to find this recipe and try it. It turned out perfect and the taste brought back great memories. Found it easy to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Fruitvale, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
very good! but just a little too sweet for me. i will try 1/2 cup sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States