Old World Escarole and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I made this tonight with Italian Endive from the local farmers market, plus my spouse's homemade pancetta in place of the bacon. It was exceptionally good. So simple! This is definitely moving to the top of my list for a quick and delicious dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Bashert
Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
As I was making this recipei I realized it was too soupy for my liking. I added an additional can of beans and pureed 1/3 of the beans. It gave it a heartier texture. also, instead of bacon I used smoked ham hocks. I boiled then until cooked in the chicken stock and used that as my stock. You will ave to add some more liquid to make the 15oz, I added the edible pork to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Morton
Home Town: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was fantastic. I made it as directed but didn't add the bacon back in and put the cheese in while it was still simmering. My advice is to buy quality beans for this one since they are center stage. I used Eden Organics Cannelli and they were deliciously creamy. Also, if this is your main dish, it will only serve two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This is so good, easy and packs a good vitamin punch. What more can one ask of food?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Kuhre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Wonderful recipe. This is genuine Italian. I added 1/2 potato, chopped; 1/2 onion, chopped and sauteed. I replaced the bacon with 1/4 pound fried Italian sausage. It's good with lima or great northern beans instead of the cannellini. For those who really love bitter greens, replace half of the endive with Catalogna chicory (the stuff that looks like dandelion greens). You will probably have to grow it yourself. You will need to add a little sugar to kill some of the bitterness. Now you've got a masterpiece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Never had escarole before and am sorry I've been missing out. This is soooo good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This is awesome! Not much to say about it really, simplicity at it's finest. I did have to skip the bacon as the package I had was growing black spots. And I only had a 10 oz can of chicken broth, so I used that it was plenty liquidy for me. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this on a cold night. It was the best stoup I have ever tasted. The recipe is easy and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pat Rhodes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
came out great! Add a little extra red pepper to kick it up a bit more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Really great flavor from the escarole, Added another can of chicken broth and a chicken bouillon cube at the simmer stage for even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judije5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States