Old World Escarole and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I'm happy to be the first to review this recipe. It is delicious! We live in a predominantly Italian area of northeastern Ohio and my husband and I have enjoyed this soup in several area restaurants... this version is very authentic tasting. Just be sure to have warm crusty bread on hand, and if you're like my husband, extra red pepper flakes :) Next time I make it he said be sure to double it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Delicious - a light soup with a nice garlic flavor. Skipped the red pepper because we don't like it and we didn't miss it at all. Did not find the escarole bitter either. Enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This recipe is awesome, i made it for my family a few times. I also used Smoked pork hocks (yea sounds gross lol) but it gave it a really good flavor in stead of the bacon. I also cut small pieces of ham in it. Guess what is for dinner tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I found this receipe to be great. Good to bring to the office for lunch. I added bulgar and it was fantastic. Good with just using vegatable broth and my vegan neice says it's the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Delicious, but what do you do with the bacon? It doesn't say if you're supposed to throw it out or put it back in at the end...I used pancetta and put it back in but it got really bacon-y after a day so I might skip that step altogether next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I substituted the escarole with spinach because I did not want to chance the bitterness of the escarole. The entire family loved the recipe, including my wife and our 11 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickster
Home Town: Marion, New York, USA
Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
came out great! Add a little extra red pepper to kick it up a bit more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this on a cold night. It was the best stoup I have ever tasted. The recipe is easy and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This is awesome! Not much to say about it really, simplicity at it's finest. I did have to skip the bacon as the package I had was growing black spots. And I only had a 10 oz can of chicken broth, so I used that it was plenty liquidy for me. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Never had escarole before and am sorry I've been missing out. This is soooo good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States